WHAT'S YOUR CALL?
Red Faces’ John Christie is on first while Joe Froio is on third, with one out. Grey Beards pitcher Jim Carey fields a ground ball, but his errant throw to 1RST gets by the first baseman and strikes Andy Dellio, the first base coach. The first baseman, Rolf Bjordammen, retrieves the ball and fires home to retire the runner from third and, the follow-up throw to second retires the runner from first. Is this a Double Play or is the ball dead after striking the coach?
Call # 2. – What’s The Call?
The batter, Grey Beards’ Al Nielsen hits a line drive up the middle. The ball strikes the rubber and deflects directly into the dugout between first base and home. What is the award?
Call #3. - How Many Bases?
The base runner, Dave Adams of the Grey Beards is on 1rst and is running on the batted ball. Awadh Jaggernath hits a line drive to the right fielder, Charlie Whithnell. Charlie makes the catch and fires the ball back into first to double up the runner. The throw is wild and goes out of play. Where do you place Adams the runner?
Call #1: This is a Double Play. When a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach…the ball is alive and in play.
Call #2: This is a foul ball! There is no award.
Call # 3: Third base. He is awarded two bases from the last base he legally occupied.
Call # 4 - “Left Early”
The runner, Royals’ Ross Frazer is on third base. Hal Ridley hits a long fly ball to left field. Fraz
er is tagging but leaves before the ball is touched by the left fielder and scores easily. After the first pitch to the batter, the defensive team appeals the illegal tag-up. Should the umpire nullify the run?
Call # 5 - “Batting Out Of Order”
The batter, White’s Wilf Antonation, has a 3-1 count when his manager, Brian Sheridan, charges from the dugout. He points out to the ump that the wrong batter is at bat. He summons the proper batter to replace the improper batter. Should the umpire allow this swap?
Call # 6 - “Carried Out Of Play”
Lloyd Johnston (White Hairs) is on third when Barny Henderson lifts a short pop up near the out of play area. The third baseman, Royal’s Terry Stroud, catches the ball in play and carries it just out of play. He recovers and comes back into play and throws out Johnston at home plate. Is this a double play?
Call # 5: You can allow the swap. The count remains the same, 3-1
Call #6: This batter is out on the legal catch. The runner is awarded home since the fielder carried the call into the dead ball area. No double play.
Call # 7. “When Is It Over?”
Bases loaded and the Mercy run # 5 is on third. One is out. Batter hits a clean single. Runner from third scores and batter/runner reaches first. Base runners on first and second (after seeing the mercy run score) leave the base path and head to the dugout. Is the inning over? Does the fifth run count?
Call # 8.
Same situation as above but the batter gets a walk. Is the inning over?
Call # 9. “Illegal Bat”
Runners on first and second…the batter hits a ground ball to the third baseman who steps on the bag for the first out of the inning. The relay to first is late and the batter/runner is safe. The alert catcher notices that the bat is illegal and appeals. What is your ruling?
Answers to calls 7-9.
Hold onto your hats folks. If the defense makes a force out appeal on the runners at first and second there are now three out and the run does not score. All runners must advance at least one base.
In this case with bases loaded and one out, the batter is awarded the base. If he goes to first and the runner from third advances home, the inning is over. The other two runners need not advance, as this is the result of an award.
The batter is out and ejected from the game if he enters the batter's box with a non-approved bat. If the umpire does not notice the bat, and play ensues, the non-offending team may make an appeal prior to the next pitch to the next batter. The umpire would then declare the previous batter out and eject him. All advances or “outs” as a result of the batted ball are nullified. Therefore the runner, previously forced at third would return to second.
Call #10 “Illegal Cleats”
The umpire notices that a new player in the league, has metal cleats on. It is the third inning. The player says he had no other shoes. What is the call?
Call #11 “Steps on Mat”
The Batter-----is standing in the batter’s box and steps on the mat to avoid being hit by a pitch that is thrown behind him. The pitched ball inadvertently strikes the bat. What is the call? Is the ball in play?
Call # 12 “Accidental Hit”
The pitcher, White Hairs’ Bill Goodwin, delivers a legally pitched ball to the batter. The pitch comes inside and strikes the batter’s bat as he attempts to get out of the way. The ball proceeds to roll into fair territory. The catcher, Bob Stewart, picks up the ball and throws to first. Is this a dead ball?
Answers to calls 10-12.
Call # 10.
Metal cleats are illegal. The player is ejected from the game. All players must wear shoes which includes an upper portion that covers the foot and a sole of acceptable construction.
Call # 11
The batter is out. By definition this is an illegally batted ball and the batter is out for batting while stepping on the mat.
The ball is live and a fair ball. Even though the batter did not intend to hit the ball, the bat struck the ball.
Call# 13. “Pitcher Windmill Delivery”
The pitcher comes to a one second stop, then takes the ball in his pitching hand over the top of his head and down and around in a windmill type action. Is this legal?
Call # 14 “Chopped Ball”
Royals’ Runner Brian Jefferson is on second base. Batter Terry Stroud chops down on a pitched ball. Short stop Don Evans throws out runner Jefferson trying to advance to third base. Is this an out?
Call # 15 “ Switching Batter’s Boxes”
The batter, Royals’ John Trigiani, has a count of two strikes. While the pitcher is off the pitching rubber, John steps across home plate into the other batter’s box. Can the batter, John, do this?
Answers to calls 13-15.
Call # 13.
This is legal. A windmill delivery is legal if all other aspects of the pitching rule are followed.
Call # 14
The batter is out for chopping down on the ball. Dead Ball. Runner is returned to second base.
Call # 15.
John Trigiani can do this. It is only when the pitcher is in position; ready to pitch, that the batter may not step across the plate in front of the catcher to the other batter’s box.