Lagrange Babe Ruth is a charter member of the national Babe Ruth League, Inc. (originally known as the Little Bigger League), a non-profit, educational organization, named after one of the greatest baseball players of all time - George Herman "Babe" Ruth. Established over 60 years ago, it has blossomed with over 60,000 teams nationally.

Lagrange Babe Ruth provides professionally groomed, MLB regulation size fields for 13 to 19 year old players. The age determination is based on the players age on 4/30 of the season of play. LGBR is in the Illinois District 3 which serves the residents of the following municipalities: Lagrange, Lagrange Pk., Lagrange Highlands, Countryside, Western Springs, Willow Springs, Hodgkins, Burr Ridge, Indian Head Pk. and Justice (click for map). We provide complete uniforms (to be returned at the end of the season), 2 IHSA certified umpires for each game, lights for night games and practice facilities including mechanized batting cages.

Currently we have 2 divisions; 13 - 15 Juniors and 16 - 19 Seniors. To see a complete chart of age groups based on league-age birthday, click here. Depending on enrollment numbers, we also participate in the Chicagoland Sunday Baseball travel league that plays an additional 10 Sunday games (click for info).  LGBR will create a 13u and 14u team to participate in the Sunday Travel option as long as the player also plays in our house league. Our season runs from April through early July and consists of approximately 16 to 20 regular season games followed by divisional playoffs and concluded with a national Babe Ruth League world series. 

Our league motto is "Where everyone plays" which means our games have continuous batting orders and every player must play a minimum of 3 innings. Our objective is to provide a healthy, competitive family experience and a place for people to meet and enjoy a summer of America's pastime. To register now and get in on the fun, click here.


 The following divisions are based on player's age on April 30 of the current season:

Prep Division (Currently awaiting registration results):
For 13-year-olds only. At this age the players are introduced to major league baseball rules on a MLB regulation size field. The rules are modified somewhat to provide a learning experience for the players. Like all of our divisions, there is a continuous batting order (everyone hits regardless of whether they are in the field or on the bench). There are unlimited substitutions and mandatory 3-inning minimum field play. Depending on the number of teams in the division, each team plays a schedule of 15-18 regular season games followed by an additional double elimination playoff and finally concluded by the national Babe Ruth World Series.

Junior Division (Will include 13's depending on registration results):
For 14 and 15-year-olds. It also uses continuous batting order, free substitution and minimum 3 innings of play. The normal regular season schedule is 16-18 games. At the end of their regular season they participate in a double elimination playoff and the national Babe Ruth World Series.

Senior Division:
For 16 thru 19-year-olds. They play 16-18 regular season games with all the same rules as the Junior Division followed by double elimination playoffs and the national Babe Ruth World Series. The Seniors play at least 1/2 of 
their games at night under the lights.

All Star Teams To Compete In The National Babe Ruth World Series:
Five All Star teams are selected near the end of the season:
One 13-year-old team from the Prep/Junior Division.
One 14-year-old team plus one 15-year-old team from the Junior Division. 
One 16-19-year-old team from the Junior/Senior Division.

The State winner goes to the Regional tournament and the Regional winner goes to the Babe Ruth World Series.

A separate 16-year-old team from the Junior Division will compete in local invitations all star tournaments.


LaGrange Babe Ruth plays most of their games at Sedgwick Park.

The 2015 Schedules will be posted on the Schedules tab in April.

The Prep season, if available, will start mid April.

The Juniors will start late April or early May.

Seniors will start early May.

End of season divisional playoffs start late June and early July. 

National Babe Ruth All Star tournaments begin in early July.



Our Sponsors