This site has not been updated and will be removed from the LeagueLineup network shortly. If you'd like to keep the site active please log in to the administration section.

The History of North Canton Wrestling

Wrestling began at Hoover High School in 1955 with 10 wrestlers under head coach Ralph Beuck.  Since then, a number of fine men have coached our program.  Steeped in history and achievement, North Canton Hoover Wrestling has seen a number of great wrestlers and young men succeed not just on the mat, but more importantly in life itself.  A special tribute to the coaches then and now!

> 2013 - Present:  Nick Gamble (TBP)
> 2009-2013:  John Grasinger  (Former Hoover wrestler and HS State CHAMPION in 1978 at 105# and HS State Placer in 1979 3rd Place at 132#, Coach Grasinger brought 4 years of NCAA Division I collegiate wrestling experience (University of Oklahoma 1980-1984) and 9 years of collegiate coaching (Appalachian State University 1999-2004) before taking the helm of North Canton Wrestling in 2009.)
> 2007-2009:  Brian Dolph  (Former Hoover wrestler, 2x HS State Placer - 1984 5th Place at 126# and 1985 3rd Place at 138#, NCAA Division I CHAMPION (University of Indiana 1990 at 150#), 3x NCAA All-American, former Olympian Qualifier and World-Class competitor, former head coach of the ALWAYS TOUGH Perry High School Wrestling Program, and former coach of multiple collegiate teams, Coach Dolph was instrumental in recruiting his successor, John Grasinger, to carry on "The Championship Tradition!" at North Canton Wrestling.  Currently Coach Dolph is coaching at the University of Pennsylvania.)
> 2004-2007:  Greg Donahue
> 2001-2004:  Tom Fausnight  (Former Hoover wrestler and State Runner-Up in 1983 at 105#, Coach Fausnight was inducted into the Stark County Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2009 for his contributions to not only wrestling at Hoover High School and North Canton, but for many years of support for wrestlers and teams throughout Stark County.)
> 1998-2001:  Jeff Sarbaugh
> 1993-1998:  John Heather  (Coach Heather is credited with returning the Federal League title to North Canton during his tenure.)
> 1966-1993:  Walt Tolarchyk  (Coach Tolarchyk retired from coaching the Hoover Mat Men in 1993 after 27 years and 9 state champions.)
> 1959-1966:  Paul MacDonald (Coach MacDonald brought the only team State Championship in the program's history to North Canton in 1965!  
> 1957 Don Hertler, Sr.:  (Coach Hertler went on to coach varsity Hoover Football for many decades, and the high school football field was renamed North Canton Memorial Stadium, Don Hertler, Sr. Field in 2010 in honor of his many years of coaching, as well as mentoring young men into caring, contributing adults in the North Canton community and abroad.)
> 1956:  Ed Cobbett
> 1955:  Ralph Beuck

As a team, North Canton has won or shared the Federal League Championship title 18 times, the Sectional Championship title 17 times, and the District Championship title 8 times!  The mat men of North Canton won the coveted State crown in 1965.

Orange Book

The Orange Books, in memory of Hoover 1971 Wrestling MVP Charles "Chuck" Schreck, is presented at the end of each season to every Varsity Letterman on the North Canton Wrestling Team and their coaching staff.  The goal of this historical remembrance in presenting these record books is to inspire our young men to strive for higher goals.  Additionally, coaches at every level of our Program scour the pages with regularity as they identify individual opponent wrestlers (and
their younger wrestling family lineage) in preparation for upcoming and future wrestling meetings on the mat.  Thank you Chuck for your inspiration and achievement of establishing the Orange Book!