Regular Season Awards Announced - Mirco Unanimous MVP

April 18, 2013 – 02:30 PM

ACFL Staff

In a highly-anticipated press conference at the Wu Centre today, Commissioner Richard Deschamps announced the winners of the Regular Season Awards for the 2013 ACFL Season. The awards were voted on by league administration officers, as well as media representatives from around the Greater Sackville Region (GSR).

Tyler "Beast Mode" Mirco was unanimously voted as the league's Most Valuable Player. Leading The Replacements to a championship, Mirco accumulated 32 catches for 8 touchdowns with 7 extra points. Defensively he led the league with 12 interceptions, tying a single-season record, and took two back for touchdowns.

Daniel Tomei of Somewhere Over the Dwayne Bowe was named Offensive MVP with 65 receptions, 2nd in the league. 22 of those went for touchdowns, 6 extra points and 1 two-point conversion. Tomei had a season-high 17 receptions in week 2 against The Replacements.

Kyle McLean was named Defensive MVP thanks to his balanced defensive attack. Thanks to a 4-sack performance in the regular season finale, McLean finished with 5 sacks and 5 interceptions, 2 of which went for touchdowns.

Lineman of the Year was awarded to Christian Plante of Somewhere Over the Dwayne Bowe. Plante led all linemen and finished fourth in the league with 49 receptions, a new record for receptions by a lineman. Plante also accumulated 7 touchdowns and chipped in with two sacks and an interception defensively.

Rookie of the Year went to Andrew Klain from the Gotham Rogues. Klain finished fifth in league receptions with 39, and third in touchdowns with 11. His 15 scoring plays were also third most in the ACFL, while on defence Klain had a sack and an interception.

The Playoff Awards will be announced later this evening in another press conference held by Deschamps at an undisclosed location.

MVP - Tyler Mirco, The Replacements
Offensive MVP - Daniel Tomei, Somewhere Over the Dwayne Bowe
Defensive MVP - Kyle McLean, The Replacements
Lineman of the Year - Christian Plante, Somewhere Over the Dwayne Bowe
Rookie of the Year - Andrew Klain, Gotham Rogues