Thomas B. Sheffenacker Memorial Award

This award was created in memory of Thomas Scheffenacker, an MJWL wrestler who died tragically during the 1983-1984 season. Sportsmanship and the team-mindedness are the themes for this award.

Candidates were submitted by their coaches. Questionaires addressing the listed themes were completed along with each candidate's statement of what having wrestled in the MJWL has meant to him. The candidates were screened and reviewed by the committee.

This year, as usual the quality of candidates has made the decision process for the committee a pleasant difficulty.

Please be present to collectively congratulate this exceptional young man who exemplifies all the qualities for which we will remember Tommy Scheffenacker.

-Ron Jackson
Chairman, Scheffenacker Committee

Past Winners
1984 Kurt Owen (Parkville)
1985 Duan Sherman (Dundalk)
1986 Gary Mrynza (Dundalk)
1987 Brandon Wingert (Manchester)
1988 Andy Smith (Parkville)
1989 Michael Ciarlo (Boys Latin) and Kevin Groskowski (Reisterstown)
1990 Gerarld Harrison (Gilman)
1991 Kenny Singler (Dundalk)
1992 Tommy Kiler (Manchester)
1993 Ari Dolid (Randallstown)
1994 Mike Boettcher (Back River)
1995 Tyrone Bowie (Mckim)
1996 Bryan Hamper (Warriors)
1997 Michael Conrad (Bel Air) and Pat Maloff (Manchester)
1998 Neil Saval (Owings Mills)
1999 Joshua Kellerman (FSK)
2000 Kenny Carter (Middle River)
2001 Joshua Taylor (Middle River) and Rober Terrin (NBWC)
2002 Eric Vinores (Owings Mills)
2003 Ryan Conroy (Vipers)
2004 Albert Woody (Mckim)
2005 Gus Mohlenrich (Westminister)
2006 Jamie Mcnulty (Boys Latin)
2007 Walter Johnson (Woodlawn)
2008 Raleigh Linville (Warriors)
2009 Sam Willingham (Warriors)
2010 Jordon Huey (Mckim)
2011 Matthew Wagner (Perry Hall)
2012 Nick Malinowski (Boys Latin)
2013 Dominick Reyes (Woodlawn)
2014 Josh Lipsey (Northwest)
2015 John Carbonell (Damascus)
2016 Rami Tadros (Northwest)
2017 Michael Emerick (Damascus)
2018 William Bressner (Perry Hall)
2019 Quinton Gilley (Lansdowne)
2020 Sisto Averno III (Northwest)