Welcome Ararat Nation to the 2018

Ararat Cal Ripken Baseball Season

Congratulations to Richmond 2 - Midcoast Cup Champions 2018!!!



2018 Ararat Cal Ripken Baseball All Star Teams


9U All Stars

  10U All Stars   11U All Stars   12U All Stars
Daniel Beal   Jesse Bowker   Brady Alexander   Camden Allen
Ely Cornish   Ethan Card   Nicholas Brady   Ethan Berry
Will Davis   Caleb Edwards   Noah Duncan   Matthew Brady
David Edwards   Brennan Fitzpatrick   Dash Farrell   Wyatt Cassidy
Cody Fournier   Finn Foster   Ben Fournier   Andrew Clemons
Brady Hiltz   Eligh Imrie   Bradan Leeman   Jacob Fullerton
Anthony Kavanaugh   Randall LaGrange   Ruben Madrigal Teeghan Gilpatric
Abel Lajoie   Kenny Mecham   Gage McGrane   Parker Lohr
Colby MacFawn   Matthew Reed   Alexx Roy   Hunter Mason
Danny Millson   Stanley Spooner   Jacob Staples   Brady Merrill
Zaden Steele   Jack Taylor   Zander Steele   Chris Saenz
Solomon Wood   Rhys Terry    Brady  Yazwinski   Alex Wormwood


Manager: Peter Fournier

  Manager: Josh Spooner   Manager: Chris Farrell   Manager: Jerry Merrill
Congratulations to all!                  

The 2018 Ararat Cal Ripken Baseball season is here!! Looking forward to seeing everyone soon!!

NOTICE: Cal Ripken Approved Bats Rule change:

Cal Ripken Division - All non-wood bats must have the USABat Marking. The Barrel Maximum is 2 5/8". No BBCOR Bats are permitted in the Cal Ripken Division. For the T-Ball Division, bats must be marked with the USABat T-Ball Stamp.

Please make your 2018 bat purchases with this in mind.

Ararat Babe Ruth Softball

Ararat 10U's Capture State Title !!!

Good Luck in Regionals


Kneeling/sitting (left to right): Rhys Terry, Andrew Clemons, Kenny Mecham, Nick Brady, Brady Alexander, Dash Farrell, Stan Spooner.  

Standing (left to right): Aaron Paul, Ethan Berry, Drew Veilleux, Zander Steele, Cale Harrington.  

Not pictured: Manager: Chris Farrell; Coach: Bill Terry; Coach: Jason Clemons.


2017 10U Tourney & Championship Game Recap


On Wednesday, July 5th Ararat beat Sacopee Valley 14-12 to win the 2017 Cal Ripken 10U Maine State Championship.  Ararat will now represent Maine in the 2017 Cal Ripken 10U New England Regional Tournament held in Marlborough, Massachusetts July 14th to July 20th. 

Leading up to the championship game, Ararat had beaten Sacopee Valley, Gardiner, and Marshwood and remained in the winners bracket.  After losing to Ararat, Sacopee Valley had to get through the losers bracket of the double-elimination state tournament by beating Farmington, Fairfield, and Marshwood. 

In their first meeting, Ararat had beaten Sacopee 2-1, but the championship game would not be the same low-scoring affair.  Andrew Clemons started the game on the rubber for Ararat and Gunnar Saunders started for Sacopee.  Sacopee jumped out to a quick 5-0 lead in the top of the first, but Ararat managed to get 2 back in the bottom half of that frame.  Sacopee then extended their lead to 9-2 after 2 innings, and took what appeared to be an insurmountable 12-3 lead after scoring 3 more times in the top of the 5th frame.   

As Ararat came to bat in the bottom of the 5th, most fans and coaches were likely making plans for a second and deciding game, but as it turned out the Ararat ballplayers had other ideas.  With one out, Dash Farrell got things started against Dylan Capano with a frozen rope double to right center.  Ethan Berry then hit a sharp single that plated Farrell, and Clemons doubled to score Berry and an inconceivable rally had begun.  The next batter, Kenny Mecham, then ripped a single scoring Clemons from third to bring the score to 12-6.  After Brady Alexander drew a walk, Sacopee decided to bring in their ace, Caleb Vacchiano, to squelch Ararat's comeback plans.  Stan Spooner, however, stepped to the plate and scalded the first pitch into the gap between short and third, plating Mecham.  With the score now 12-7, Zander Steele managed a walk to load the bases, but Vacchiano struck out the next batter for the second out of the inning.   

With two outs and the bases loaded, the Ararat offense was under significant pressure, but having let up 4 runs and five hits so too was the Sacopee defense.  Nick Brady kept the rally going with a slow roller between short and third that was mishandled, scoring another run and leaving the bases loaded.  Farrell then laced his second hit of the inning, scoring Spooner and Steele and bringing Ararat within two runs, 12-10.  Given where the inning started and with another chance to hit, Ararat likely would have been satisfied had Berry's grounder back to the pitcher resulted in the third out.  A miscue on the throw and catch, however, allowed Ararat to draw within one, bringing up Clemons with runners on first and third.  Clemons then laced his second double of the inning, plating the tying and go-ahead runs.  Mecham followed with his second single of the inning scoring Clemons, and giving Ararat a two-run lead before Sacopee got the final out of the inning.   

After mounting an unbelievable comeback to take a fragile 2-run lead into the final inning, Ararat gave the ball back to Berry to close the game.  Berry caught a line drive for the first out, and then struck out the next 2 batters to secure the state championship for Ararat. 

Vacchiano and Saunders led the Sacopee offense.  Vacchiano went 2 for 3 with two doubles, four RBIs, and two runs scored, and Saunders went 3 for 4 with a double, two RBIs and two runs scored.  Capano also had a double.  Saunders pitched 3 solid innings for Sacopee, allowing only 1 earned run, limiting Ararat to 2 hits and striking out 3.   

For Ararat, Mecham went 3 for 3 with a two RBIs, Clemons went 3 for 4 with two doubles, three RBIs, and 2 runs scored, Farrell was 2 for 2 with a double, 2 walks, two RBIs, and 3 runs scored, and Berry scored 4 runs, reaching base safely in all 4 of his at bats.   Berry also pitched 2 innings, limiting Sacopee to 1 unearned run and striking out two.

Sacopee Valley is comprised of players from the towns of Baldin, Cornish, Hiram, Parsonfield, and Porter, while Ararat is comprised of players from the towns of Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, Harpswell, Richmond and Topsham.