Last Updated: August 20, 2014

Check Us Out On:
My Account
Login  ·  Signup
Add Site to Favorites
Go to MyLeagueLineup

Visitor Counter

Register Online
Annual Registration/Waiver
Umpire Sign-Up Form
Other Forms
Nick Otto, 1956 - 2013

2014 - 20th Anniversary for The Mid-Iowa Baseball League

Wednesday, August 20

45+ games are OFF tonight due to the rain.

25+ Double-Elimination Tournament

Take a look at the attached PDF document that lays out the format of this year's exciting 25+ double-elimination tournament.  25+ Bracket



Florida in November?

Are you 35+?  Can you throw strikes?  Do you like these views?  If you can answer "yes" to all three questions, please contact Brian Schueller immediately.  Our league is taking a 35+ team to the Florida Fall Classic, the week of November 3-8, 2014.  The wood bat tournament will be held in the Tampa/Clearwater area.  Our condos are right on the beach.  Games will be played at the complexes of the Phillies (shown), Blue Jays & Orioles.  This solid team still needs pitching!


35+ & 45+ Reschedules/Changes

Please review updates to the schedules for the 35/45 divisions.  These have recently been updated to include most of our previous rainouts.




Mid-Iowa headlines MSBL National website

CLICK HERE for our feature article that is found on the front page of MSBL National.

Also, CLICK HERE for a recently produced video showing "why we do what we do".

Secure your valuables at the field

The league has had various reports of thefts at multiple fields already this year.  Please be sure to secure your valuables in your car or in the dugout & always keep an eye out for suspicious activity.  Please protect your personal belongings as well as the belongings of our field owners.

Rule Highlight - Starting a Game with less than Nine Players

1.  Teams may start a game with seven (7) players or less.  But, to continue beyond the first inning, they must have at least eight (8).

Rule 3.J  A team must have eight (8) players for an official game & may borrow a player from an opposing team with the opposing team manager's consent or may borrow a player from another team, also with the opposing manager's consent.  If the team's ninth player arrives after the start of the game, the borrowed player reverts back to his team.

Rule 2.e.L  There will be a 15-minute grace period before a forfeit is enforced due to lack of players.  If at the end of the 15 minutes, a team has less than eight (8) players, that team will be the visiting team & bat first.  If this team still has less than eight (8) players at the end of that half inning, the game will be considered a forfeit.  This will allow the game to begin while waiting for additional players.

2.  The start time of a game is the scheduled time, NOT the time the first pitch is thrown.

Rule 2.f-L  All regular season games in the 18+/25+ divisions will consist of nine (9) innings & will have a 2 1/2 hour time limit.  Games in the Bill Hyland 35+/45+ Leagues will also be nine (9) innings in length, however no inning may start after two (2) hours from the start of the game.  The time limit begins at the scheduled start time, not when the game actually begins.  (For example, a 1:00 game begins at 1:00 & will end at 3:30.)  The only exeption is if a delay occurs because the umpires are late.  If the umpires are late, the time limit begins when the umpire says "Play Ball".  Doubleheaders can only originally be scheduled for two teams to play each other, not for a team to play two different teams in one day during the regular season.  Certain circumstances may arise where a team may play two different teams in one day.  This will only be allowed as part of a rescheduled event given that all parties are in agreement.  There will be 15 minutes between doubleheader games.

3.  If a team has eight (8) or nine (9) players, the opposing manager has the option of only batting eight (8) or nine (9) in his lineup.  There are no penalties or automatic outs for only hitting eight (8) or nine (9) if that is the number the team has available.

4.  Regardless of the number of players in the hitting lineup, if a player in the lineup is injured & cannot continue, the first time the injured player's position comes up, it is an automatic out.  There is no penalty for the position being skipped in future occurrences.

Please review new "Run-Rule"

Please review the new "run-rule" across all of our leagues.  This was voted on at the pre-season manager meeting:

A game shall be called complete if there is a 12-run discrepancy after 6 innings and 1.5 hours of game time has passed.


Online Registration/Waiver

MANAGERS...please have any new players register so there are no issues as the season continues.  If a person plays in a game & has not completed a waiver, a forfeit could be enforced.

Each individual player, including managers, should complete their registration for the 2014 season.  Please complete the form in its entirety and be sure to enter your information carefully and accurately.  Paper copies of the waiver remain available under the Waivers/Forms menu on the left.  Even if you complete a paper copy, you are encouraged to also complete an online waiver.

This form should only be completed by players already rostered with a team.  If you are a free agent, please do not complete until you are signed by a team.




Roster Clean-up

MANAGERS, please follow the directions below & update your team site with your current rosters.  Anyone appearing in a game must be on your roster & have a waiver completed.

Managers:  Please update your rosters with players that have agreed to play in 2014 & have completed a waiver (either online or on paper).

Any players that are deemed as "reserve/protected", feel free to include them on your roster in the following manner:  Log on to your team site, click on "Edit", add the player names in the "Comments" section at the bottom.  Please use the 35+ Bulldogs as a reference.

Please remember that our national rules state that any player that has not played with a team in the previous year has become a free agent and can sign with any team without completing a player release form.

League Page on Facebook

Don't forget, the Facebook button at the lower left of this homepage will take you to our League page on Facebook.  Feel free to join the page and then post photos of league action from your SmartPhone or your dumb camera.


Mobile App Launched

As of 6/4/14, the MyLeagueLineup iPhone app has launched! Download it for free in iTunes today!



Famous Quote

“They say some of my stars drink whiskey. But I have found that the ones who drink milkshakes don't win many ball games.” ― Casey Stengel





Upcoming Games/Practices

Thursday,  Aug 21
35+ Bill Hyland MSBL
Demons @ Yankees 7:30pm Cownie
Heat @ Bulldogs 7:30pm Johnston
Saturday,  Aug 23
25+ MSBL
Oaks @ Monarchs 11:00am Johnston
Cubs @ Titans 1:00pm Hoover
Monarchs @ Oaks 2:00pm Johnston
Des Moines Cardinals @ Des Moines Hitmen 4:00pm Hoover
Monday,  Aug 25
45+ Bill Hyland MSBL
Twins @ Grays 7:30pm Johnston
Yankees @ Mudhens 7:30pm Urb 1 (NW)
Tuesday,  Aug 26
35+ Bill Hyland MSBL
Demons @ Heat 7:30pm Cownie
Hawks @ Bulldogs 7:30pm Johnston
Woodpeckers @ Yankees 7:30pm Simpson
Wednesday,  Aug 27
45+ Bill Hyland MSBL
Grays @ Yankees 7:30pm Johnston
Mudhens @ Wildcats 7:30pm Urb 1 (NW)
Thursday,  Aug 28
35+ Bill Hyland MSBL
Demons @ Heat 7:30pm Cownie
Bulldogs @ Woodpeckers 7:30pm Johnston
Yankees @ Hawks 8:00pm SE Polk
Tuesday,  Sep 2
35+ Bill Hyland MSBL
Woodpeckers @ Heat 7:30pm Cownie
Demons @ Bulldogs 7:30pm Johnston

For a complete schedule listing, click here!

2014 - 20th Anniversary for The Mid-Iowa Baseball League

powered by LeagueLineup