• Welcome to the official Section V Cheerleading website!
  • Please make sure you check out the "Dates to Remember"
  • 2017 Winter Sectionals will be held February 25 @RIT
  • 2016 Fall Sectionals will be held October 29 @RIT



The "Section V Judges Request for Competition" form

can be found in the menu under "Forms"




Here is an update for our Webinar series that includes responses to questions that were asked based on our Rubric Webinar Series.  
This is posted in the NYSPHSAA Cheerleading page and accessible at the link below:





Fall Cheerleading Rosters will be accepted any time after 8:00 AM on September 22

click for roster form

The Order of Appearance will be determined by the order in which the rosters are received.

Please email to sectionvcheer@gmail.com

Please include Team name, Coach(s) names, Mascot, Cheerleader names, Number of cheerleaders competing, and if your team is Co-Ed.





ADs and Coaches


Section V has approved to allow 10% of each Cheerleading Division to move on to the State Championships after Sectional Finals.  This is determined by having the Sectional Winner in each Division move on to the State Competition.  If there are more than 10 in a Division then it will be the Sectional winner plus the school or schools with the next highest scores.  Ex:  If there are 11 schools, we will send 2 schools to States, 21 schools will mean 3 and so on.  If a Division is divided multiple times (Division 2 Small) we will divide according to BEDS numbers in to equal numbers, send the winner and the rest will be determined by the next highest scores within that whole division. Since we have over 60 teams traditionally in Division 2 Small, we use the same set of judges for Sectionals to assure consistency. 




Congratulations to Section V Cheerleaders that participated in the State Championships.
Section V took 1st place in all 5 Divisions
Division 1 Small - Greece Athena
Division 1 Large - Fairport
Division 2 Small - Avon
Division 2 Large - Wayne
Co-Ed - Eastridge
Congratulations also to the other Section V teams that placed: Rush Henrietta, Gananda, & LeRoy

Here is the direct web link for pictures:  02-25-2015 Winter Section V Cheerleading Sectionals




Please Check "Ronald McDonald" tab to the left for the latest updates.




(Updated (/18/17) 
Also please note: 
NFHS Spirit rules book corrections can be found on the NYSCJA Safety Webpage: http://www.leaguelineup.com/newsitem.asp?url=nyscja&itemid=1584982


Here is the direct web link for pictures:  10-29-2016 Section V Fall Cheerleading Championships



In order to qualify to compete in Sectionals Teams MUST compete in at least 2 sanctioned competitions prior to sectionals.  Alternates MUST be at competitions in uniform in order to count as 2 competitions, if they are needed in Sectionals. Competitions are listed on our website.


Music for sectionals MUST be on MP3 Player, IPODs, etc for clarity, NOT CDs
We will be using 9 mats for Sectionals.

All Classifications will be judged the same with level of difficulty.



On April 29, 2014 the New York State Board of Regents declared competitive cheerleading a sport.