Last Updated: January 18, 2017
Number of Visits

  • 2016 Gr. 8 Reg. Seas. Champs- OLOW (A) + St. Damian (B); Tourney Champs- OLOW (A)+ St. Christina (B)
  • 2016 Gr. 7 Reg. Seas. Champs- Christina, SJF Wh., and QM Blue; Tourney Champs- St. Christina
  • 2016 Gr. 6 Reg. Seas. Champs- SJF Royal (A) and White (B); Playoff Champs- St. Linus (A)+ OLOR (B)
  • 2016 Gr. 5 Reg. Season Champs- A: OLOR, B-Christina Wh. and SJF Wh.; Tourney Champs- A + B- SJF
  • 2016 Gr. 4 Reg. Season Champs- Queen of Martyrs; Playoff Champs- Mt. Greenwood Blue

2017 SSBVL Important Season Information:

Coordinator's Meeting at Brother Rice HS on Thursday, February 9 at 7:00 PM.  If your school plans to enter any teams, a representative needs to attend this meeting.

The league is open to any school or parish, grades 4-8, and we hope to have A and B divisions again this year.

The season is scheduled to run from March 20 - May 7.

The league fee is $425 per team.

If your school or parish would like to host matches, please bring gym availability and preferred grades to the February 9 meeting.

Also bring any school or parish conflict dates (Confirmation, 8th grade trip, etc.) to the February 9 meeting. 

Start your organizing now, and please have your sign-up before the February 9 meeting so that you know what grades and number of teams you will have in the league.

Downloadable forms are now available under 'Handouts.'  You must use the official league roster (and obtain all required signatures), use the official league waiver forms (one for Catholic schools and parishes or the other for public schools) and submit all signed waiver forms for all players, and pay all entry fees at the schedule pick-up at Brother Rice on Sunday, March 5 between 11:00 AM and 1:00 PM.  Schedules will not be released until all obligations are met.

Contact Nancy Frederick for questions at


The men's volleyball season is now beginning- lots of great games coming up in our area.

The following schools in our area, city, state, and region now offer collegiate men's volleyball:

NCAA Division I: Lewis University in Romeoville, IL, Loyola University in Chicago, IL, Quincy University in Quincy, IL, Indiana-Purdue at Fort Wayne, Indiana, and Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana.

NCAA Division III: Benedictine University in Lisle, IL, Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin, Dominican University in River Forest, IL, Milwaukee School of Engineering in Milwaukee, WI, and North Central College in Naperville, IL 

NAIA: Calumet College of St. Joseph in Whiting, IN, St. Xavier University in Chicago, IL, Robert Morris University in Chicago, IL, St. Ambrose University in Davenport, Iowa, Clarke College in Dubuque, Iowa, and Cardinal Stritch University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and Trinity Christian College in Palos Heights, IL.

For more information about these programs- schedules, rosters, player profiles, and more- go the Links section of our web site. A number of collegiate men's volleyball matches will also be televised this year while others can be viewed on-line- more information on these can be found at the school's web sites or check your local TV and cable listings.



There have been a number of listings added and updated to the Links section. This is basically a one-stop shop for all boys volleyball-related websites at all levels in our region and country.

This website is being updated continually. If you have a link to suggest, please contact SSBVL Technology Coordinator Paul Ickes at . Our goal is to make our Links section a one stop guide to all things related to boys volleyball in the Southland!