This year the SWS Board of Directors, as mandated by state law, has instituted a criminal background check policy for all parents interacting directly with the players. That means all coaches and assistant coaches must get two clearances to participate. I have included the link to both the PennsylPSP website for the criminal background check and a link to the Child Abuse History Clearance. Again you must have both clearances to coach. The cost for each clearance is $10 and is paid via the website.
The key phrase in the law is "direct contact with children". As this law goes into full effect in July, 2015, we will continue to monitor how the law is interpreted and enforced. It is widely believed the clearances are only required of coaches and not, forexample, team moms or concession stand workers as they are technically "supervised" by coaches with clearances. Again, that may change based how this all unfolds.
Once you have completed your clearances please print them off and bring a copy to your first practice. They should be submitted in a sealed envelope with the coaches name, team and age level on the front. Head coaches will collect them and get them to the commissioner at the respective level. We recommend using a sharpie marker to obliterate your social security # prior to submitting your clearance forms. Keep a copy for your records if you volunteer for other youth organizations as they will also need this information. The deadline for submission is April 18, 2015.
For those that coach, thank you. We understand that this is one more burden, and cost, but as we all know the safety and well-being of the children is paramount. If you have questions or concerns please feel free to email me directly at email@example.com
President, SWS Board of Directors
Terms and Conditions for the use of PATCH- Pennsylvania Access to Criminal History
The PATCH web site is available for registered and non-registered users wishing to acquire criminal history information on individuals. Users must agree to abide by all sections of the Criminal History Record Information Act and all terms stated forthwith.
There is a $10.00 non-refundable fee for each request, regardless of outcome. Payment is accepted by credit card or by billing a pre-established account. Customers will be charged for misspelling, duplicate submissions and other user errors. There is an additional $5.00 non-refundable fee for a notarized copy.
Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance application can be submitted online. You must create an account or log in if you already have an account. Note: you will need an email address to create an account