 |
Author |
TOPIC: 2008 RULE CHANGES...... |
| LAK66
February 12, 2008 10:11:23 PM
Entry #: 2596823
| The 1st league meeting produced some league changes to the rules from 2007. Please read the changes below:
- 3 HR limit ONLY. No 3 & 1up rule. If you hit a 4th, it's an out. * *
- Any ball by air or ground that goes onto the street from the back field at Frick is now an automatic HR. * * - 12 batters allowed in batting lineup, 9 minimum * * - playoff players must play in 50% of league games, (starter, PR, PH etc...) * * - voted unanimously by the parties in attendence to hire new umpires for the 2008 season. 1 voter was abstained. * * - 1 after 2 rule applies! You will only get 1 free foul after 2 strikes, a 2nd foul is a strike out. * * - Courtesy runner rule is as follows.... anyone needing a courtesy runner before the game starts will be allowed. The person GETTING the runner is allowed to get as many bases as he wants on his FIRST at-bat of the game. Every at-bat thereafter, that batter can only hit a single. i.e. if he hits a gap shot at anytime after his initial AB of the game, means that he has to stop at 1st base, however, the other runners on base are allowed to advance however many bases that they wish. This is a game by game procedure. If more than 1 player needs a courtesy runner, both managers must agree and the same rules apply. Same goes for a player hurt during a game, thus, requiring a courtesy runner.
|
| rebels07
February 17, 2008 10:03:55 AM
Entry #: 2604576
| Questions i have.
Homeruns only count on fields with fences or homers over the fence or on the street. What if you play at Frick and hit a gap shot Homerun. Does this count against the homerun rule.
Also do people getting a courtesy runner have to play a certain position ex catcher 1stbase
|
| LAK66
February 18, 2008 5:25:52 PM
Entry #: 2606938
| As for the HR rule, it only pertains to homeruns that go over a fence. Also, if a player attempts to catch a ball at the fence and the ball HITS the players glove, but still goes over the fence, IT IS RULED A 4 BASE ERROR, thus not counting against the HR limit. The umpire would ultimately have to agree that it did hit the glove.
As for the courtesy runner, it is not limited to any certain position.
|
|