View Message Board Guidelines
 |
Author |
TOPIC: Caught Foul Fly |
| Dennis (Hosanna)
June 12, 2009 11:17:27 AM
Entry #: 3185402
| For clarification, please note that a caught foul fly is a LIVE ball (so long as it's not in dead-ball territory) and is treated just like a caught fair fly. This means that runners may advance after the ball is first touched, and that they are injeopardy of an appeal if they leave base early (i.e. before it is touched).
The reason I'm writing this is that I was asked about this at our last game by the other team. They recently played another team in which they caught a foul fly and then threw to the base the runner had left for a double play, but the batting team insisted that the ball was dead and there could be no second out.
That was plainly incorrect by rule, the runner should have been out on the appeal for leaving base early on a caught fly ball.
The only extenuating circumstances would be if the fly ball was "out of bounds" or if it was carried "out of bounds" after it was caught. If this is the case, the umpire should be clearly calling a dead ball in these circumstances, and note that the boundary lines are generally assumed to be imaginery extensions of the backstop. These lines aren't marked, so if it is at all questionable (i.e. the umpire isn't in position to sight along the backstop), I would keep the ball live.
|
| Yosamitysamm
August 10, 2009 11:30:27 AM
Entry #: 3241281
| Could a player advance after tagging up?
Chris
|
| Dennis (Hosanna)
August 12, 2009 1:11:29 PM
Entry #: 3244049
| Yes, runners may advance. This is just like any other cuaght fly ball, and in fact, the rules do not differentiate between a caught foul fly and a caught fair fly they are both simply caught fly balls.
|
|