View Message Board Guidelines
 |
Author |
TOPIC: Foul Tips |
| Dennis (Hosanna)
April 19, 2010 8:47:12 AM
Entry #: 3447275
| The rule for foul tips has been interpreted incorrectly by our league (as well as nearly every other local league and even the umpires’ association).
Here is the exact wording of the rule:
Rule 1-35: FOUL TIP is a batted ball which: a. Goes directly from the bat to the catcher’s hands and b. Does not go higher than the batter’s head and c. Is legally caught by the catcher.
This has typically been understood that any ball batted back to and caught by the catcher is a foul tip unless it went over the batter’s head. THIS IS INCORRECT!
Not going higher than the batter’s head is one of the requirements of a foul tip, but it’s not the only requirement. Typically overlooked is the word “directly”. Simply put, if the batted ball has a noticeable arc, then it didn’t go directly, and it is not a foul tip. If such a ball is caught and is not a foul tip, then it must be a caught foul fly, which means the batter is out (and the ball is live).
Realistically, this means that in “matt ball” (where the catcher generally plays very deep), there is a very low probability of having any foul tips. Almost all balls hit back to the catcher will be fly balls, and if caught should result in outs.
The proper understanding of this rule was confirmed this past weekend by a couple of Level 5 umpires that came to Edmonton to teach at the EDSUA umpiring clinic.
|
| Dennis (Hosanna)
June 17, 2010 11:11:01 AM
Entry #: 3506214
| This has, predictably, come up at a number of games, so I want to clarify the issue regarding head height.
Note that the rule states that for it to be a foul tip, it cannot go higher than the batter's head. But it does NOT state that for it to be a foul fly, it must go higher than the batter's head. There is no requirement for how high it must go in order to be a foul fly.
So, if it doesn't go higher than the batter's head, it MIGHT be a foul tip, or it MIGHT be a foul fly. It depends on whether the other requirements for a foul tip are met.
To be a foul tip, the ball must also go directly to the catcher's hands. And note that directly means, quite literally, directly, so if you can see an arc on the ball's path, then it did not go directly.
Therefore, if the ball is tipped back to the catcher with a perceptible arc, then it cannot be a foul tip since the requirement for going directly to the catcher's hands was not met. Therefore, if caught, this is an out regardless of whether it did or did not go higher than the batter's head.
This will take time for people to get comfortable with since we've misinterpreted this for a long, long time. In fact, our umpire association has also been misinterpreting this as well.
|
| Adam (Our Savior)
July 8, 2010 8:53:54 AM
Entry #: 3521824
| Just a clarifying question. So if the batter swings and hits the ball into the catchers mit with out it going over the batters head and with it not hitting anything on the way to the catchers mit is that not then called as an out? Just wonder because that is how i understand the post you have put up. I read it as it does not matter how high the ball gose if it is cought by the catcher it is an out.
Adam
|
| Dennis (Hosanna)
July 26, 2010 2:05:48 PM
Entry #: 3535857
| Sorry for the delay in replying to the questionI was away on vacation but am now back.
As to Adam's question. . .if it's caught and it's not a foul tip, then it must be a foul fly, so yes, that would be an out. But I am loathe to say that the height doesn't matter because it is used in the Softball Canada definition.
Just to be clear, the height requirement is one of two requirements of a foul tip it is not a requirement of a foul fly. Therefore, if it doesn't go over the batter's head, it can be either a foul tip or a foul fly depending on whether the other requirements for a foul tip are met.
Approach it this way:
1. Did the ball go over the batter's head?
If yes, then it must be a foul fly and batter is out.
If no, then go to the next question.
2. Did the ball go directly to the catcher's hand(s)?
If yes, then it is a foul tip, ball is dead, and add a strike to the batter.
If no, then it is a foul fly, ball is live, and the batter is out.
The tricky bit is defining what 'directly' means. Literally speaking, 'directly' means 'the shortest possible path'. From our umpiring clinic, the clinicians were advocating the concept of 'no percepticle arc'. If I can see an arc, then I'll rule it a foul fly. If I can't perceive an arc, then I'll rule a foul tip. This is, of course, umpire judgement. And note that the Softball Canada rulebook does not use the phrase 'no perceptible arc' (though some rule codes do).
Hope this helps.
|
|