 |
Author |
TOPIC: Strike three swinging, batter gets hit w/ ball |
| DonMc
May 17, 2011 2:22:49 PM
Entry #: 3727417
| 7.11a (FP), With two strikes, B1 swings and the ball touches any part of his/her person.
Ruling: The ball is dead and B1 is out on strikes.
|
| G M
May 31, 2011 1:08:16 PM
Entry #: 3736712
| Don, I had a similar situation in a recent tournament in Whitehall. I emailed the Chairman of the NSA Rules Committee, and see his reply below.
Bill, First off, I see by your sanction # that you register in Ohio through your state fastpitch UIC, Kim Vargecko. You should generally direct questions of this nature to her first. But, Yes, as you describe the play, you made the right call. The key phrase in your description was "My judgment was that she didn’t offer at the pitch". - Original Message - From: Moore, Glenn W (Bill) To: winchester.leonard@gmail.com Sent: Monday, May 23, 2011 1:09 PM
Leonard,
My name is Bill Moore, and I need a clarification on a ruling. I was umpiring behind the plate this past weekend and I had an unusual circumstance that I haven’t encountered before. The batter pivoted to bunt, and the pitch came directly at the batter. The batter twisted her body (instead of turning her back to the pitch) to avoid being struck by the pitch, which hit her in the left wrist. My judgment was that she didn’t offer at the pitch but tried to avoid getting hit. So, I awarded her first base based on what I saw. Was I right or wrong in my ruling? In my opinion, if she had not pivoted to bunt the pitch probably would have went behind her. That’s how far the pitch was inside the batter’s box.
Thank you,
Bill Moore
|
|