 |
Author |
TOPIC: foul ball? |
| player
May 25, 2011 12:32:46 AM
Entry #: 3733268
| Batter with two strikes swings at inside pitch and ball hits players hand, Is this a foul ball, is the hand part of the bat, or is it a strike out?
|
| Dan Y.
May 25, 2011 5:16:09 PM
Entry #: 3733839
| To start, "The hands are part of the bat" is one of the most common baseball rules myths. Hands belong to people, not bats.
Moreover, to the question, if a batter swings at a pitch which hits him, the ball shall be dead and the pitch called a strike. If strike three, the batter is out and no runners may advance.
Something to keep in mind is that since the ball is dead at the moment it hits the batter, the batter must have already been judged to be offering at the pitch. Essentially, the umpire has to imagine the batter freezing when he gets hit and if the position that the batter is in constitutes an offer at the pitch.
|
|