Back to Message Board List   |  Go to Last Entry on Page Add New Topic  |  Reply
Author TOPIC: A balk or not
helper

May 31, 2011
1:10:46 PM

Entry #: 3736713
This happen twice in a Pony game.
If this is a wrong call, please make sure umpires no rule, been doing this play for
many years never been called for balk.

Player on second base
No runner on first or third
Pitcher is in the strech position
Runner starts running to third before pitcher
starts a movement to home plate.
Pitcher does not step off mound but
throws to third base.
3rd baseman tags the runner.

I say good play, due to the fact runner moves before pitch movement to home started.
Umpire calls balk.
Umpire states open base rule.

what is correct call?

Thanks again for your help


Dan Y.

June 2, 2011
3:02:58 PM

Entry #: 3738333
8.05 - If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when ... (d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play.

A runner making a legitimate steal attempt of a base would allow the pitcher throw to an unoccupied base as he is making a play.

If this is what happened, please e-mail me the game in question.

Dan Y.


helper

June 7, 2011
10:28:28 PM

Entry #: 3741783
Dan,
this happen weeks ago.

runner was stealing third (twice),
pitcher made no movement towards home plate
the pitcher threw ball towards third base
umpire called a balk (twice)
stating open base rule.

thanks


Back to Top