 |
Author |
TOPIC: Walked runner allowed to run after stopping at 1B? |
| Softball247
October 24, 2011 1:34:16 PM
Entry #: 3823351
| Don, Here's the short version of the play. Runner on 3B, less than 2 outs. Batter is walked. She goes to 1B and the ball is returned to the pitcher who is inside the 16' circle, not looking at the BR. The BR stops completely on 1B (not rounding it, but stops completely) then after a second or two she takes off to 2B to try to draw a throw & score R3. The pitcher does nothing, but looks towards R3 who does not try to go home. I call time & argue that the BR is not entitled to take off to 2B because she came to a complete stop at 1B. I argued that she should have been called out because she didn't continue to run or even round, 1B, then go. The unpires conferred & the ruling I was given is that they could not determine whether or not the pitcher made a play on R1, therefore she was allowed to run to 2B. I disagree. I believe that only comes into play (Look Back Rule) when the runner rounds 1B & freezes for a second. I lost the argument with the umpire & they allowed the R1 to stay on 2B. I didn't push the issue too far although I did state my complete displeasure with this call, and went on record with the umpires that this was a blown call, and was very wrong.
I'd like your take on this. The identity of the umpires will remain anonymous, but I will state that the home plate umpire was not part of our local crew.
|
| EC Mott
October 25, 2011 8:17:31 AM
Entry #: 3824049
| 247 - this rule is notoriously hard to interpret. The Look Back Rule (Rule 8 Section 8 x) is pretty clear about your particular situation, however. The NOTE added to the rule spells out that, once stopped on base the baserunner may not continue on to second base. The hard part in your case is the EXCEPTION which does not define what a "play made by the pitcher" is. It is the umpire's judgement as to whether or not a move made by the pitcher is a "play". Even taking her throwing hand to the glove (if the ball is in the glove) can be interpreted as a "play" - especially if done so in an aggressive way. If your pitcher made no "play" until after the baserunner had left first then the Look Back Rule would apply and the baserunner would be declared out.
|
| DonMc
November 1, 2011 6:50:50 PM
Entry #: 3829018
| She should have been called out! Sounds like you got a real weak excuse.
|
|