Back to Message Board List   |  Go to Last Entry on Page Add New Topic  |  Reply
Author TOPIC: Runners interference


May 7, 2012
12:02:28 AM

Entry #: 3910333
Runner on 1st, no outs. Ground ball hit where first baseman goes to his right to field the ball but runner makes contact with the first baseman. Is this interference on the runner and if so can a double play be called since the first baseman could have thrown to second and back to first. Or can it be interference on the fielder for getting in the runners way?

Dan Y.

May 7, 2012
10:28:13 AM

Entry #: 3910510
If the first baseman had a chance to field the ball, it would be interference on the runner and he would be out, and the batter-runner being awarded first base. Two outs can only be called if the umpire believes the interference was done intentionally to break up a double play.

If the first baseman did not have a chance to field the ball, or another fielder had a better chance to field the ball, it would be obstruction on the first baseman. Because the obstructed runner was not being played on at that moment, the umpires have the authority to protect the runner to any base(s) (or no base at all) to nullify the obstruction.

Dan Yost


Back to Top