|
May 30, 2012 10:36:34 AM
Entry #: 3924267
| Runners on 1st and 3rd with one out. Batter hits ball in the left field gap where left fielder makes a diving grab. Runner from third tags. Runner on first thinks ball is going to drop and is already at second base rounding the bag. Runner retreats to first back through second base, however, left fielder throws to first to get the runner before he gets back to first.
Umpire calls runner out at first and does not allow the run although the runner on third tagged and crossed the plate before the out was made at first.
|
| Dan Y.
May 30, 2012 12:48:11 PM
Entry #: 3924377
| The run should score as this is a timing play and not a force play.
Force plays only involve runners being forced to ADVANCE to a base as a result of a batter becoming a batter-runner.
If you would e-mail me at dantyost@gmail.com with the game's details (date, field, and teams) I would appreciate it.
Dan Y.
|