View Message Board Guidelines
Back to Message Board List   |  Go to Last Entry on Page Add New Topic  |  Reply
Author TOPIC: Award of bases on an overthrow
Dennis (Hosanna)

May 6, 2005
1:09:48 PM

Entry #: 834495
One issue that seems to result in more arguments than any other is the awarding of bases on an overflow. But it shouldn't because the actual rule is very clear and leaves little room for judgement.

Our league rules explicitly state that we use the rules for slo-pitch published by Softball Canada (available from the Alberta Amateur Softball Association, 9860-33 Ave, 461-7735), but their rule for overthrows is virtually identical to the other major rules bodies (SPN and NSA).

That said, let me quote the actual rule from Softball Canada's 2005-2006 edition.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Slo-Pitch Rule 8-7e: Runners are entitled to advance without liability to be put out when the ball is in play and is overthrown (beyond the boundary lines) or is blocked.

Effect:

1. All runners, including the batter-runner, shall be awarded two bases; and

a. The award will be governed by the position of the runners when the ball left the fielder's hand.

b. If two runners are between the same bases, the award is based on the position of the lead runner.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The rule does go on to mention other effects and some exceptions (particularly for blocked balls), but I'm most interested in overthrows here, so I won't quote all of it (unless asked).

The real question, then, is what does the above mean? Let me give some typical examples.

1. No runners on base, batter hits a grounder toward 3rd or SS who fields the ball and throws it over 1st and out of play. BR (batter-runner) hadn't reached 1st before the throw was made, so the two bases awarded are 1st and 2nd (this has never caused an argument).

2. Runner on second, first is empty, and batter again hits a grounder toward 3rd or SS who fields the ball, looks R2 back, then throws to first but too late. R2 then runs to 3rd, and 1st throws it over 3rd in an attempt on R2. What's the award?


R2 last held 2nd at the time of the throw, so R2 is awarded 3rd and home (2 bases). BR had already reached 1st before the throw (else he/she would be out on the original play), so the award is 2nd and 3rd.

The important thing to realise is that it doesn't matter what the runner is doing. . . all that matters is what base the runner last had at the time the throw is made.

Discussion?

Dennis


Dennis (Hosanna)

August 2, 2005
11:31:34 AM

Entry #: 973010
Another situation. . .

3) Runner on first, less than 2 out. Batter hits a shallow flyball, R1 goes halfway to 2B and waits to see if it's caught. F9 charges the ball and makes the catch for the out, and R1 starts back to 1B. F9 then tries to throw out R1 at 1B but throws the ball away. What's the award?

Answer: R1 is awarded 3rd base. It doesn't matter which way the runner was going. R1 already had 1st base, so a 2-base award puts him/her on 3rd.

Do note, however, that R1 must still retouch 1st base before advancing on the awarded bases. If s/he does not do so, then once the ball is back in the infield, and the baserunner has completed his/her baserunning obligations, the defense can still appeal on the runner for leaving base early on the caught fly ball. This appeal may be done up until the next pitch from anywhere in the infield.




August 2, 2005
11:33:19 AM

Entry #: 973015
Let's rephrase that last sentence.

"This appeal may be done from anywhere in the infield up until the next pitch."


Back to Top