2018 League Leaders -- Final

September 12, 2018 – 09:00 AM
Batting average (Top 15 - At least 25 at-bats)
Matt Jeffery, Oakland 48  25 .520
Ryan Valentine, Oakland 50  23 .460
Alex Banko, Oakland 40  17 .425
Jason Ashby, Oakland 32  13 .406
Caleb Hare, Tri-State 36  14 .388
Seth Wright, Oakland 36  14 .388
Hunter Jenkins, Cumberland 51  19 .372
Anthony Gavin, Oakland 36  13 .361
Alex Beiler, Oakland 57  21 .368
Nick Corwell, Tri-State 36   12 .333
Jake Van Meter, Cumberland 27  9 .333
Chris Wilson, Cumberland 37  12 .324
Brooks Carr, Oakland 28   9 .321
Corey Helbig, Oakland 33   10 .303


Matt Jeffery, Oakland 30
Alex Beiler, Oakland 28
Ryan Valentine, Oakland 16
Alex Banko, Oakland 15
Anthony Gavin, Oakland 12
Matt Jeffery, Oakland 6
Seth Wright, Oakland 6
Jason Ashby, Oakland 6
Gage Shaffer, Cumberland 4
Ryan Valentine, Oakland 4
Matt Jeffery, Oakland 2
Alex Banko, Oakland 1
Ryan Colaw, Petersburg 1
Anthony Gavin, Oakland 1
Cody Jefferys, Cumberland 1
Seth Wright, Oakland



Home Runs  
Matt Jeffery, Oakland 2
Alex Banko, Oakland 1
Brooks Carr, Oakland 1
Anthony Gavin, Oakland 1
Jordan Nicewarner, Tri-State 1


Runs Batted In  
Matt Jeffery, Oakland 19
Anthony Gavin, Oakland 17
Alex Banko, Oakland 16
Ryan Valentine, Oakland 14
Brooks Carr, Oakland 12


Stolen Bases  
Alex Banko, Oakland  11 
Alex Beiler, Oakland 11
Hunter Jenkins, Cumberland  6
Matt Jeffery, Oakland  6
Anthony Gavin, Oakland  5
Pitching Wins  
Sam Aloi, Oakland 4
Ryan Valentine, Oakland 4
Nathan King, Oakland 4
Wade McGee, Cumberland 3
Brian Powell, Tri-State 3


Earned run average (At least 15 innings pitched) IP H   ER  BB SO   ERA
Ryan Valentine, Oakland 20   11    2   13   26   0.70
Wade McGee, Cumberland 28 2/3  16    4   14   25   0.98
Trenton Eirich, Cumberland 15 2/3   15    4   2   12   1.78
Brian Powell, Tri-State 19   21    5   1   14   1.84
Nathan King, Oakland 30   18    10   16   30   2.33
Cameron Bratton, Cumberland 19   18    8   7   23   2.94
Sam Aloi, Oakland 30   33    14   8   23   3.26
Ty Wickline, Oakland 15   20    7   4   14   3.26
Caleb Hare, Tri-State 15 1/3   16    8   10   14   3.65
Strikeouts (at least 15 innings pitched) IP       SO   Per Game
Ryan Valentine, Oakland 20  26 9.10
Cameron Bratton, Cumberland 19 23  8.47
Korey Reed, Petersburg 19 19 7.00
Nathan King, Oakland 30 30 7.00
Josh Stemaier, Tri-State 16 2/3   16 6.73
Statistics include all regular-season games

Pen-Mar, Blue Ridge begin new era Saturday!

May 30, 2019 – 11:00 PM

 The Pen-Mar/West Virginia League and the Blue Ridge League, two semi-pro leagues that have combined to win eight Maryland State Championships, have merged into one, with the regular season set to begin on Saturday.

  Both leagues have rich baseball histories.

  The local Pen-Mar League is the second-oldest semi-pro league in Maryland, and among the oldest in the nation, having debuted in 1947 with regular seasons and playoffs every year since. The Cumberland Orioles are the defending league champions and Maryland Semi-Pro State Champions. The Oakland Oaks won last year's regular-season title.

  The Pen-Mar League has sent several former players to the Major Leagues, including Bob Robertson, a World Series champion with the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1971; John Kruk, a three-time NL All-Star and career .300 hitter with the Padres, Phillies and White Sox; Sam Perlozzo, former Baltimore Orioles manager and coach of the World Series champion Reds in 1990; and Leo Mazzone, pitching coach of the World Series champion Braves in 1995.

  The Blue Ridge League was named in honor of the original Blue Ridge League, which was a Class D league in the old classification system that included Class D to Class AA in the minor leagues. That league had teams from Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Maryland, including the Cumberland Colts in 1917 and 1918, and the Piedmont/Westernport Drybugs in 1918.

  For a short time, several Major League teams had affiliations with teams in the Blue Ridge, including the Cleveland Indians (Frederick); Detroit Tigers (Hanover, Pa.); New York Yankees (Chambersburg, Pa.); St. Louis Cardinals (Waynesboro, Pa.); Philadelphia Athletics (Martinsburg, W.Va.); and the Washington Senators (Hagerstown).

  The league debuted in 1915 and continued until 1930. The current league debuted years later. The Brunswick Orioles won last year's league championship and has had a vice-like grip on the league title. Since 2000, Brunswick won league championships from 2003 to 2013 and again in 2015, 2017 and 2018.

  The Pen-Mar/Blue Ridge merger has formed a seven-team league this year.

  The Pen-Mar teams will be the Cumberland Orioles and Wheelhouse Titans, who will play home games at the Hot Stove Complex at the Allegany County Fairgrounds; the Oakland Oaks, who will play home games at Garrett College; and the Clarksburg Generals, a new team that will play its home games on the artificial turf Frank Loria Field in Clarksburg, West Virginia.

  Although the Generals are a new team, the Pen-Mar League has had Bridgeport, Morgantown, Elkins and Buckhannon teams in the past from West Virginia, in addition to Keyser, Moorefield and Petersburg.

  The Blue Ridge teams are the Brunswick Orioles, who play home games at Brunswick High School; the Martinsburg Blue Sox, who play at Martinsburg High School; and the Maryland Bay Crabs, who play home games at Babe Ruth Field in Thurmont.

  Terry Helbig, Pen-Mar League president, is hopeful of additional expansion in coming years, including the return of former local teams. The Pen-Mar has had teams in many towns in the past, including Westernport, Frostburg and Mt. Savage in Maryland; Hyndman, Bedford and Salisbury in Pennsylvania; and Keyser, Moorefield, Petersburg, Elkins and Morgantown in West Virginia.

  A 24-game schedule, with doubleheaders on weekends, begins Saturday with the Bay Crabs playing the Cumberland Orioles at the Hot Stove Complex, and the Oaks playing the Blue Sox in Martinsburg.

  On Sunday, Clarksburg hosts Oakland, Martinsburg plays the Cumberland Orioles at the Hot Stove Complex, and Brunswick faces the Bay Crabs in Thurmont.

  To reduce travel time and costs, games involving Clarksburg and the new teams from the Blue Ridge League will be played at the Hot Stove Complex.

Players, coaches, officials among inductees to National Hall of Fame

November 26, 2018 – 08:15 PM

The National Semi-Pro Baseball Hall of Fame, located in Evansville, Indiana, inducted its fifth class on Nov. 10, and among those entering the hall were players, coaches and league officials of the PenMar-WV League, which recently concluded its 70th consecutive season of operation with the Cumberland Orioles winning the playoff championship as well as the Maryland state championship.

Players of a league that reach the major leagues are automatic inductees to the Semi-Pro Hall of Fame. From the PenMar-WV League, those players were: John Kruk, Leo Mazzone, Sam Perlozzo, Bob Robertson and Tobi Stoner.

Players to inducted into the Semi-Pro Hall of Fame this year were: Basil Armstrong (Bel Air); Gene Decker, Chris Glass, Joe Rowan (Everett); Mike Keel, Vohn Lehman, Mike Mathews, Gene Stair (Hyndman); John Chaney, Jerry Mahoney, Junie Perry (Keyser); Wayne Mathias (Moorefield); Pete Skidmore, Bobby Uhl (Mount Savage); Phil Cook, Rick O'Reilly, Bob Raines, Don Raines (Tri-Towns); Stan Fitzwater, Mike Gustave, John Helmick, Francis Mouse, Tim Mouse, Lawrence Nesselrodt, Mark Tysinger (Oakland).

Several of the listed players played for more than one team during their careers.

Coaches inducted were: Bob Bryant (Hyndman); Phil Caruso, Terry Helbig (Oakland).

Officials inducted were: John Culp, Terry Helbig, Harry "Henskie" Ritchey.

Umpires inducted were: Doug Ellis, Steve Hines, Rick Renotas.

Visit the Cumberland Times-News web site or click on the link below for the full story: