Back to Search Results

PDL 2009 season details announced

Divisional championships returning to pdl playoff format
USL News Release
Wednesday, December 10, 2008

TAMPA, FL -- United Soccer Leagues announced the details for the 2009 USL Premier Development League season. Among the details finalized recently at the 2008 Annual General Meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Tampa, FL were the alignment, schedule structure and playoff details for the 2009 competition.

The PDL will consist of 68 teams in 2009, playing in eight divisions that comprise the four conferences.

Expansion teams that have been formally announced to date are the Real Colorado Foxes, Rochester Thunder, Forest City London, Portland Timbers U23, Victoria Highlanders, Rio Grande Valley and Midland (TX). Three additional expansion teams are yet to be officially announced.

The league will also play a 16-game season for the sixth straight campaign with games based primarily upon their divisional alignment. The season will open May 1 and conclude July 19.

Western Conference
Northwest Division: Abbotsford Mariners, Cascade Surge, Kitsap (TBA), Portland Timbers U23, Seattle (TBA), Spokane Spiders, Tacoma Tide, Vancouver Whitecaps Residency, Victoria Highlanders, Yakima Reds
Southwest Division: Bakersfield Brigade, BYU Cougars, Fresno Fuego, Lancaster Rattlers, Los Angeles Storm, Ogden Outlaws, Orange County Blue Star, San Fernando Valley Quakes, Southern California Seahorses, Ventura County Fusion

Our Sponsors