August 4, 2020

With the regular season wrapped up we move into tournament time for the Independent League and WBA baseball. With circumstances varying across the WBA leagues in the 2020 season, the state tournament will look a little different this year. Traditionally 32 teams across the six leagues would qualify for the WBA playoffs played over two weekends; first a semifinal round to trim the field down to eight teams that would compete for the state title the following weekend. In 2020, each of the six leagues in the Wisconsin Baseball Association will send two representatives from their league to compete for the title, with each league determining how those teams would be chosen. Earlier this summer the Independent League board elected to use the Independent League tournament to determine who would represent the league at the state tournament. A ten game regular season would be played with the final standings determining the seeding for the league tournament. With the regular season concluding this past weekend, those standings are:

Spooner Cardinals     10-0
Haugen Knights          7-3
Brill Millers                  5-5 (tie breaker over Hayward via H2H)
Hayward Hawks          5-5
Haugen Hornets         2-8
Osceola Braves           1-9
The league tournament will be played in Haugen this weekend, kicking off Friday night. The two teams that advance to championship Sunday will advance to state, with the winner getting the #1 seed from the Indy League, and the runner up the #2 seed from the Indy. The tournament bracket with matchups and game times is below.