What is the Mini Masters?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

What is the MC Mini Masters?

In 1997, Mick Cullen decided that he would realize a dream he had growing up-- to see how much miniature golf he and his friends & family could play in one day. He mapped out a trek spanning six courses in Wisconsin and Illinois-- Congo River (Kenosha, WI), Action Territory (Kenosha, WI), Sisolak's Golf-A-Rama (two 18-hole courses in Beach Park, IL), Lighthouse (Waukegan, IL), and Kristof's (Round Lake Beach, IL). Thirteen hardy competitors signed up for what was anointed the MC Mini Masters, and by the second course of the day they knew they were on to something special and were telling Mick he needed to do it again the next year. Michael Cullen galloped to a wide victory that day, scoring 31 under par (a record that stood until 2006) to beat Aaron Hanson by 13 strokes.
The next year the field slipped to a mere 11, again won by Michael Cullen by just a stroke over Aaron Hanson. Since that time, the Mini Masters has become somewhat of a phenomenon, with fields as large as 40 players, and even a pair of feature columns covering it in the Chicago Tribune.
In 2019, the Mini Masters will turn 22! Just one of the original six courses (Lighthouse in Waukegan) is in the lineup. Sixteen different layouts have made an appearance in the six-course menu over the years. Very meticulous records are kept. The M.C. Mini Masters is easily the most exhausting fun you will ever have playing miniature golf!

Prizes Awarded

*Overall champion receives trophy, Ugly Jacket
*Trophies for lowest junior (12 and under) score, lowest score for someone who isn't a previous champion (Putterz Division), lowest score by a previous overall champion (Puttz Division)
*Holes-in-one leader receives trophy
*Individual course winners receive homemade trophies and Dollar Store prizes
*The player who records the most sixes receives a birdhouse signed by the entire tourney field
*The low-scoring rookie is crowned Rookie of the Year
*The player who improves the most over his/her previous career best wins the Most Improved trophy
*The player who improves the most over his/her previous best on each particular course receives that course's Most Improved trophy
*The player who most embodies the spirit of the M.C. Mini Masters receives the Mick Cullen award