Players, coaches, officials among inductees to National Hall of Fame

November 26, 2018 – 08:15 PM

The National Semi-Pro Baseball Hall of Fame, located in Evansville, Indiana, inducted its fifth class on Nov. 10, and among those entering the hall were players, coaches and league officials of the PenMar-WV League, which recently concluded its 70th consecutive season of operation with the Cumberland Orioles winning the playoff championship as well as the Maryland state championship.

Players of a league that reach the major leagues are automatic inductees to the Semi-Pro Hall of Fame. From the PenMar-WV League, those players were: John Kruk, Leo Mazzone, Sam Perlozzo, Bob Robertson and Tobi Stoner.

Players to inducted into the Semi-Pro Hall of Fame this year were: Basil Armstrong (Bel Air); Gene Decker, Chris Glass, Joe Rowan (Everett); Mike Keel, Vohn Lehman, Mike Mathews, Gene Stair (Hyndman); John Chaney, Jerry Mahoney, Junie Perry (Keyser); Wayne Mathias (Moorefield); Pete Skidmore, Bobby Uhl (Mount Savage); Phil Cook, Rick O'Reilly, Bob Raines, Don Raines (Tri-Towns); Stan Fitzwater, Mike Gustave, John Helmick, Francis Mouse, Tim Mouse, Lawrence Nesselrodt, Mark Tysinger (Oakland).

Several of the listed players played for more than one team during their careers.

Coaches inducted were: Bob Bryant (Hyndman); Phil Caruso, Terry Helbig (Oakland).

Officials inducted were: John Culp, Terry Helbig, Harry "Henskie" Ritchey.

Umpires inducted were: Doug Ellis, Steve Hines, Rick Renotas.

Visit the Cumberland Times-News web site or click on the link below for the full story: