Follow Us

Select Category:  

OHC History

The OHC schools represent the three smallest divisions in Ohio High School football. Currently, Northeastern (the largest school in the OHC) and Greeneview are in Division 5. Mechanicsburg, Triad and West Liberty-Salem are in Division 6. Catholic Central, Cedarville and Southeastern (the smallest school in the OHC) are all in Division 7.

The OHC was created with and maintained the reputation for some of the highest quality small school football in the state of Ohio. Through the 2015 season, the OHC is an impressive 192-165-1 (.538 winning percentage) all-time against non-conference opponents in regular season games.

Seven of the eight OHC teams have won or shared conference championships in the OHC since 2001. Mechanicsburg has won six OHC titles (2002 shared, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2014 shared, 2015), West Liberty-Salem has five (2004, 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2014 shared), Catholic Central has two (2007 and 2010), Northeastern has two (2002 shared and 2003 shared), Triad has two (2003 shared and 2013), Southeastern has one (2001) and Greeneview has one (2014 shared).

Since the inaugural season in 2001, the OHC has sent 42 teams to the OHSAA playoffs. Verifying the high quality of OHC football, in the Regional Quarterfinals, OHC teams are an impressive 27-18 all-time (.600 winning %).

In 2007, Catholic Central made history in the OHC for traveling to the State Semifinals; the first time an OHC team had ever gone this far in the playoffs. The Irish lost in the state semifinals by a mere 7 points to the eventual State Champion, Newark Catholic.  Mechanicsburg matched the feat in 2013 when they advanced to the State Semifinals as well for the first time in schools history, before falling to Wayne Trace.  The OHC has played in 9 Regional Finals, winning 2 Regional Championships.

Mechanicsburg and West Liberty-Salem have made the most playoff appearances since the inauguration of the OHC with 10 each.  Catholic Central has made the playoffs 8 times, Triad has made the playoffs 5 times, Southeastern has made the playoffs 3 times. Cedarville, Greeneview and Northeastern each have 2 playoff appearances.

*Updated 8/9/16