View Message Board Guidelines
Back to Message Board List   |  Go to Last Entry on Page Add New Topic  |  Reply  |  Login
Author TOPIC: Rules
Stonecutter

February 28, 2014
7:06:22 AM

Entry #: 4115114
Looking for the correct answer.

Bases loaded 1 out, batter hits one up the middle, nicks my glove on the way by, hits runner who jumps to try and avoid the ball (SS & 2B are no where near 2nd). Umpire calls runner at 2nd out, awards batter first, runners on first and 3rd advance scoring 1 run.

My question: is that the correct ruling.

I was under the impression that if there is no chance at a fielder getting the ball the ball is live and play the live ball out (which we would have gotten a DP out of). Also, if the ump is calling him out for the ball hitting him, should not the guy on third have to stay on third, meaning no run would score on the play?


DAVID M

February 28, 2014
2:36:10 PM

Entry #: 4115165
In this situation the fact that the ball nicked your glove, and hit the runner the ball remains live and all runners are in jeopardy to be put out, once the ball hit your glove it does not matter if the 2nd or ss was in position to make a play or not
If by chance the ball did not hit your glove and the 2nd base men or the ss was not in position to make a play the ball becomes dead and all runners advance 1 base, if the the infielders were in a position to make a play and the runner was hit by the ball the runner would be called out with no advance by the runners and the batter placed on 1st base


Faux

March 1, 2014
11:03:09 AM

Entry #: 4115213
this is not a straight forward call.

If in the opinion of the umpire a fielder could have made a play on the ball then the runner is out, it's a dead ball and all other base runners advance one base.

If in the umpire's opinion no fielder could have made a play on the ball, then the runner is not out and the ball is live. All runners can continue to advance at their discretion


DAVID M

March 2, 2014
11:04:31 AM

Entry #: 4115272
If a runner is hit with a fair batted ball and no infielder had a play on the ball , the ball is immediately dead and runners advance 1 base
spn rule sec 8 sub section 10- d
effect- 2


Stonecutter

March 4, 2014
12:38:50 AM

Entry #: 4115476
Thanks guys.

Stonecutter

April 21, 2014
8:28:39 AM

Entry #: 4121606
I don't see any rules in the SPN handbook on 4 fielders past the 175 ft mark.

As from what I have read there is no rule against a 5 man infield, unless it is a league rule. Is that accurate?


Barnstormer

April 21, 2014
4:20:17 PM

Entry #: 4121690
5 man infields are fine in this league. You'll find there are some teams who use this technique fairly often, though most teams feel that it's not the best strategy and stick to a 4-man outfield instead. To each their own... there's no rule dictating you must do one or the other.

Knight

April 22, 2014
7:45:15 AM

Entry #: 4121767
This may only work at crosby, the bigger field at Milliken will be a enormous challenge for some outfielders. Not the greatest strategy.

Duchy

April 23, 2014
2:06:07 PM

Entry #: 4122010
Only GREAT teams deploy this tactic.

Anchor

April 24, 2014
10:57:02 PM

Entry #: 4122340
Wow, my teammate called me yesterday saying we have a slo-pitch practice today. I just told him we are no longer teammates. Off to the masters.

Faux

April 25, 2014
2:38:16 PM

Entry #: 4122461
Most teams already have completed some form of BP. Most at the parks and some at the bar .

Stonecutter

April 27, 2014
7:11:41 AM

Entry #: 4122645
In my game last year a batter from the other team ran to and touch first while still holding the bat.A player question the ump about touching the base while he still had the bat in his hand and the ump said it is legal.Did the ump make the right call?


Jim_the_Ump

April 27, 2014
8:42:39 AM

Entry #: 4122650
The umpire was incorrect. As soon as the player touched first base holding the bat, he should have been called out. The ball remains alive.

SPN Rule 8, Sec. 4K

Jim_the_Ump




Stonecutter

April 28, 2014
8:05:15 PM

Entry #: 4122949
When running to first and you get hit by the throw, is the ball not considered dead ?


Stonecutter

April 30, 2014
9:22:59 PM

Entry #: 4123377
How big is the batters box?
If a player starts outside a batters box is ever pitch considered a strike ?


Faux

May 4, 2014
6:49:47 AM

Entry #: 4123782
The only time I have ever witnessed an Ump make any call in regards to the batters box is when a player steps in front of the plate or makes contact with the plate itself... I have NEVER witnessed an ump enforce the batter to be in the actual '3 X '7 box....

Knight

May 7, 2014
7:04:33 AM

Entry #: 4124424
If you make an attempt to go towards second base either after stepping on the safety bag or the white bag you're fair game. Is that an accurate statement when it come to first base?


Stonecutter

May 8, 2014
8:04:20 PM

Entry #: 4124749

Ball is hit right back up the middle, Runner leaves on contact but the pitcher catches it. Pitcher tries to throw the ball to first but overthrows it and the ball goes out of play.

Where does the runner on 1st end up? 2nd or 3rd?


Rev Hero

May 14, 2014
7:44:07 PM

Entry #: 4125784
Couple years ago at Provies there was a fly ball out to fairly shallow centre field, our centre fielder came in, made a clean catch, ran 5 or 6 more steps. Since there were no runners on base he flipped the ball to the short stop from his glove. Umpy said, had the ball touched the ground when he did that he would've awarded the batter first base since our fielder never touched the ball with his throwing hand.
Is this just an umpy on a power trip or is there a rule to this effect?
(I've seen our pitcher catch numerous comebackers and just drop the ball on the mound to end the inning has never been an issue).


DAVID M

May 14, 2014
10:03:02 PM

Entry #: 4125811
Just another umpire making up rules as he goes along
In 30 years of umpiring I have never heard of such a rule, probably because it does not exist
To make an out on a catch all you have to show the umpire is that you had control and the ball was not
trapped or touched the ground


Rev Hero

May 16, 2014
7:26:25 PM

Entry #: 4126214
Appreciate your feedback.

Back to Top