Mary Whittaker Memorial Award
for the HDBA Grass Roots
Volunteer of the year Award
2019 Recipients
The McDonald Family (Roseanne, Darrel, Justin & Nolan)
(Mahoney Park)

Past Recipients

2018 Scott Marshall (West Mountain)

2017 Mike Campanella (Mahoney)

2016 Ted Todoschuck (Dofasco)

2015 Tony Blainey (HDBA)

2014 Don Holland (Alexander)

2013 Al Buswell (Dofasco)

2012 Brian McDermott (Dofasco)

2011 JP Gagnon (Mahoney)

2010 Guido Kelly (West Mountain)

2009 Tom Hixon (Dofasco)

2008 Howard Brain (West Mountain)

2007 Don Wright (Mahoney)

2006 Lori Ambro (Ancaster)

2005 John & Mary Whittaker (Mahoney)

The Mary Whittaker Memorial Award Trophy is currently on display at the Dofasco ArcelorMittal Park


Congratulations to Glen Ostrosser for being awarded the honour of Hamilton's 2018 Volunteer of the year.

Glen is a long time HDBA rep, having served as a Mahoney director and past President, HDBA Director, HDBA/OBA rep and is currently servings as a Baseball Ontario Director. Glen was nominated on the basis of his involvement in the CanUsa Games and every year takes great pride in having Hamilton teams participate in the games.


"When I first took my son when he was 6 in 1986 to sign up at Mahoney after a couple years at Kiwanis T-ball I asked if I could help coach a team.

The person they sent me to talk to was Glen.

In all the years since I have depended on Glen for assistance and guidance and friendship and I will be forever grateful for that.

On behalf of the thousands of kids that you have impacted and the hundreds of guys like me that have impacted thousands more that you have mentored and helped along the way.

Congratulations, this is a huge accomplishment. You are a great ambassador for our sport and I cannot think of anyone in any sport more deserving!"

Larry Wood

Congratulations to East Mountain Baseball's Kyle Burley on receiving the youth volunteer award at the 2016 Sport Volunteers dinner and awards banquet on Sept 22nd