The Sacramento Smokeys are one of the longest lasting independent semi-pro baseball teams in the world. 2011's campaign will be its 62nd year in Sacramento. The first team started in 1949 being sponsored by Paul Motors.
The team was started by Lawrence (Larry) Manuian and his brother.

The fully sponsored team is comprised of top area collegiate and ex-pro players that seek elite level competition to serve as a showcase for their skills.

Throughout the Smokeys' history they have helped numerous alumni make it to the major leagues. The latest being Joe Thurston of the St. Louis Cardinals in 2009. Other names include Fernando Vina (MLB All-Star, ESPN's Baseball Tonight), Butch Metzger (MLB Rookie of the Year), Steve Brown (MLB), Timothy Busfield (Thirty Something, Field of Dreams, Little Big League, West Wing), John McNamara (MLB), Jo Jo White (MLB), Woody Held (MLB), La Vel Freeman (MLB) and F.P. Santangelo (MLB).