James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy

Subscribe to our Newsletter



Written by Chad Gilley
February 16, 2005

Every Thanksgiving hundreds of Portlanders flock to the football field by the highway known as Fitzpatrick Stadium to see the annual renewal of the cross-town football rivalry that has endured since 1911 between the Portland Bulldogs and the Deering Rams. While many of the older people will know for whom the stadium is named, younger folks and more recent arrivals may not realize that James J. Fitzpatrick was one of the most respected figures in Maine athletic history.

See the rest of Chad’s article here (downloaded as MHTML format)


The State of Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation

President: Jack Cosgrove

Established: 1988

The State of Maine Chapter’s primary mission is to 'promote amateur football' at all competitive levels. In doing so the chapter hopes to increase the number of schools and young men playing the game, and also teach coaches basic skills and fundamentals. At the annual scholar-athlete dinner, 18 outstanding young men who have brought honor to their individual schools are recognized. A Distinguished American and a Contributor to Amateur Football, along with a football official and the high school coach of the year also receive awards.

The chapter is the support organization for the "James Fitzpatrick Dinner." This affair is for Maine’s high school equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, signifying the best football player in the state. An NFL-NFF Coaching Academy is held each June at Bowdoin College. A golf tournament at Turner Highland Golf Club is for the benefit of scholarship monies. A Play It Smart program is in place at Messalonskee High School.

Mission: Our mission is to promote and develop the power of amateur football in developing the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, competitive zeal and the drive for academic excellence in America’s young people.

We will fulfill this mission in the following ways:

1. By inspiring young people to excellence: holding up the greatest players and coaches in the history of the game as role models and enshrining them and their achievements in the College Football Hall of Fame.

2. By exciting young people, and those who influence them, about the game: in particular, managing the College Football Hall of Fame in such a way as to dramatize the history, exhilaration and value of the game to an ever broadening audience of fans and potential fans.

3. By developing, managing and promoting model football programs, which further strengthen the educational and character building qualities of the game.

4. By honoring, publicizing and providing financial support to high school and college football players who represent our ideal of the scholar-athlete.

5. By continuing a grassroots movement, through local chapters, while involving football fans, coaches, educators, the media and former players in the implementation of the programs, which will fulfill our mission for America’s youth.

Through this mission, The Foundation serves not only youth, but the nation as well.

Additional Information: With 120 chapters and over 12,000 members nationwide, The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, a not-for-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in America’s young people. NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., Play It Smart, The NFF Center for Youth Development Through Sport at Springfield College (Mass.), and scholarships of nearly $1 million for College and High School Scholar-Athletes.

Content courtesy of the State of Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Year    Recipient      School
2019   _   _
2018   Tyler Bridge   Wells
2017   Owen Garrard   Scarborough
2016   Michael Laverriere   Thornton Academy
2015   Joe Esposito   Portland
2014   Brett Gerry   Marshwood
2013   Ben Lucas   Cony
2012   Donald Goodrich   Cheverus
2011   Jordan Hersom   Leavitt
2010   Peter Gwilym   Cheverus
2009   Jack Mallis   Windham
2008   Nate Doehler   Bonny Eagle
2007   Jack Hersom   Lawrence
2006   Jared Turcotte   Lewiston
2005   John Weichman   Bonny Eagle
2004   Nicolas Tymoczko   Bucksport
2003   Phil Bourassa   Biddeford
2002   Carl Frye   Portland
2001   Lee St. Hilaire   Winthrop
2000   Jason O'Tash   Massabesic
1999   Kevin Bougie   Sanford
1998   Robert Parisien   Biddeford
1997   Nate Sergent   Gardiner
1996   Dustin Ireland   Mt. Blue
1995   Joe D'Andrea   Portland
1994   Jeremy Tardiff   Oxford Hills
1993   Mike Hamel   Waterville
1992   Bert Rich   South Portland
1991   Art Leveris   Thornton Academy
1990   John St. Onge   Biddeford
1989   Steve Knight   Marshwood
1988   Kirk Mathieu   Lawrence
1987   Brian Seguin   Lewiston
1986   Bob Giroux   Thornton Academy
1985   Gerry Gelinas   Biddeford
1984   Scott Woodward   Biddeford
1983   Shaun Hawkins   Portland
1982   Mike Rutherford   Portland
1981   Dan Federico   South Portland
1980   Claude Leclair   Biddeford
1979   Pat Philippon   Bangor
1978   Tony Matoin   Sanford
1977   Gerry Raymond   Lewiston
1976   Paul Belanger   Sanford
1975   Mike Edwards   Bangor
1974   Josh Waldman   Waterville
1973   Pete McCarty   Bangor
1972   Marty Milligan   Rumford
1971   Ron Marchand   Biddeford