Roundball Classic History





2006: Andrew Bohan-Smithsburg
2007: Dustin Hull-Hancock
2008: John Durhing-St.Maria Goretti
2009: David Hobel-Mountain Ridge

2006: Erin Smith-Hancock
2007: Alex Baker-Boonsboro
2008: Lauren Dobish-Mercersburg Academy-PA
2009: Keirah Hicks-Western


2006: Tyler King-Smithsburg
2007: Will Taylor-Williamsport
2008: Terrell Rickard-Waynesboro-PA
2009: Greg Edwards-Susquehanna Township-PA


December 2004:
Current Event Director Dave Foltz started laying the blueprint for a senior All-Star Basketball game.

March 17, 2006:
The first-ever Roundball Classic is held at North Hagerstown HS. In the girl's game, the South defeats the North, 64-52. Hancock's Jennifer Willison is named MVP for scoring 21 points and pulling 30 rebounds. Hancock's Erin Smith and Smithsburg's Andrew Bohan win the three-point shootouts. Smithsburg's Tyler King wins the slam dunk contest. In the boy's game, the North defeats the South, 90-74. South Hagerstown's Dominique Byrd is named MVP for scoring 27 points and pulling 15 rebounds.

March 24, 2007:
The second Roundball Classic is held at Hagerstown CC ARCC. In the girl's game, the North defeats the South. Boonsboro's Jerica Hewitt is named MVP for scoring 14 points. Boonsboro's Alex Baker and Hancock's Dustin Hull win the three-point shootouts. Williamsport's Will Taylor wins the slam dunk contest. Logan Bollinger and Clara Spicer of St. Maria Goretti win the first-ever hot shots contest. In the boy's game, the South defeats the North in overtime. Williamsport's Will Taylor is named MVP.

November 2007
Talks begin with McDonald's about expanding the event to include West Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Frederick, Carroll, and Allegany Counties in Maryland.

January 14, 2008
The 2008 McDonald's Roundball Classic officially expands to include over 36 schools in seven different counties in three states.

January 25, 2008
Roundball Director Dave Foltz expands the 2008 event to include three games, two boys and one girls.

February 10, 2008
Over 90 players and coaches attend the 2008 Roundball Classic media day at Hagerstown CC.

March 21, 2008
The third McDonald's Roundball Classic is held on Good Friday at Hagerstown CC. Well over 1000 people attended to see the North girls pull out a 54-52 victory over the South. Brunswick senior Danielle Maught is named MVP. The South boys net a victory in the Shining Stars game. Jefferson (WV) senior Justin Fagan is named MVP. Greencastle's Dameatric Scott is named MVP for leading the North to a 82-77 victory in the Tri-State Elite Game.

April 2008
The WCAA agrees to hold the 2009 Roundball Classic at Hagerstown CC on Sunday, March 22, 2009.

May 2008
Event Director Dave Foltz decides to turn the 2009 event into one of the top high school all-star basketball events on the East Coast. The '09 Roundball will have five all-star games, including a boys and girls game with Division-I bound players.

June 2008
Invitations are mailed to over 200 top 2009 senior boys and girls in four states and DC (MD-WV-PA-VA-DC).

March 22, 2009
The fourth annual McDonald's Roundball Classic is held at Hagerstown Community College. Five games, two three-point shootouts, and a dunk contest is held. 162 players from 96 schools in five states and DC participate. Kansas-bound Thomas Robinson was the event showstopper as he led his Boy's Premier All-Star team to victory while winning game MVP honors.

January 2010
Buffalo Wild Wings agrees to be the exclusive sponsor of the 2010 Roundball Classic.

March 20, 2010
The fifth edition of the Buffalo Wild Wings Roundball Classic is held at Hagerstown CC. All five all-star games are close and high scoring to give the 1000 fans a treat.

March, 2015
The 10th annual Roundball Classic is held