• welcome
  • welcome
  • welcome

Taylor Smith Claims 2006 SASD

Orbison Lambert claims a victory in Street Stock in 2007 with the #3 Monte Carlo.

First start in 2008 proves successful.

October 19. Lapped every car on the track for the second win in a caution free main event.

I was only a spectator to the days biggest hit. The 26 and 66 hard in the wall off turn 4.

2006 Southwest Arm Soapbox Derby Competitors (L-R) #3 Shawn Lambert, #18 Tyler Baker, #24 Taylor Smith, #8 Emily Whalen, #2 Lucas Spurrell, #13 Desmond Whalen.

NEWS>> Taylor Smith #24 lays claim to the 2006 Derby by edging out last years champion Emily Whalen by two feet at the finish line in possibly the closest championship race in the derby's six year history.
>> Some excitement during the sixth running of the derby saw Tyler baker ditch his car after losing control and Lucas Spurrell separated the right rear tire and completed a 180 degree spin. Both were able to make quick repairs and continue to race.
>> Lucas Spurrell(#2) has modified his car, but no word yet from any testing as to any improvements in speed, although theyn are counting on a stronger showing in this years derby.
>> Taylor Smith(#24) revealed a faster car during testing. Some modifications to the car has certainly put him in a position to run for the cup.
>> New SASD Rule Book. Everything you need to know to get started. Pick yours up and get goin'.
>> Get a copy of the first five years of SASD on DVD
>> August 28, In the lightning heat 2, The 3 car was working his way to the front when on lap 3, was turned around in turn 1. Jim Weir Jr. in the #8 car had a windshield full of mud and didn't see Orbison's #3 which resulted in the number 3 facing the wrong way on the track. He got the car straightened out and came from 3/4 lap down to mow down the field. Time ran out as there were no cautions and the three car could only muster a fifth.
The lightning main saw The three car come from the back and finish second in a hard fought battle. Congratulations to Todd Henessey (24)again this week for taking the victory.
>> August 21, Orbison again dominates the Lightning heat 2 going from seventh to second in just the first lap. He then took the lead on lap 3 and didn't look back, sewing up another victory.
The Lightning main saw a great battle for the lead coming down to the checker flag, with Todd Henessey(24) taking the win followed by Ray Woodfard(82) and Orbison Lambert(3). The three cars crossed the line in a near photo finish.
In the sponsor race the car 3 took another win with Bob Petten of BBLS Garage at the wheel.
>> August 14, The 3 car takes the win in the lightning heat 2, and goes on to finish third in the Lightning main.
>> July 31, Orbison finishes third in Lightning Heat 2, and takes the victory in the Lightning Main.

This is the elimination sheet from the 2006 derby. Taylor Smith wins with Emily Whalen second and Lucas Spurrell Third.

'06 Finish #24 Taylor Smith edges out #8 Emily Whalen by 0.068 seconds at the finish line to claim his first championship.

Emily Whalen, driver of the # 8 Home Hardware car has laid claim to the 2005 Fifth Annual Southwest Arm Soapbox Derby. After racing the two previous years and not winning a single race, She won it all on Saturday.

In the closest finish of the day, Shawn holds off Brandon for third place.

Emily Whalen receives the Southwest Arm Cup sponsored by 2997 Southwest Arm RCACC. Roped into presenting the cup on behalf of the cadet corp is Dallas Drover. Emily also posted the fastest elapsed time of the day covering the 260 foot course in 11.72 seconds.

Dallas Drover again put up the grub for the kids. The "Hot Dog Lady" has been a staple part of the derby every year, making sure hunger won't be a factor. Thanks Dallas.

For additional pictures see Photo Albums.
For a copy of the rules see Rules/Regulations

Don't forget to sign the Guestbook or feel free to post comments on the Message Board.

The spectators show up to watch the fifth running of the derby.

Emily Whalen qualified fifth and raced from there to claim her first championship.

The 2004 lineup were L-R: James Drover, Lucas Spurrell, Troy Price, Shawn Lambert, Darrin Marsh, Damian Stacey, Emily Whalen, Tyler Baker.

Emily Whalen Shows off the 2005 Southwest Arm Cup and the plaque she got for fan Favorite car, as voted by the spectators.

Mini Stock

Orbison Lambert, driving the #3 Dodge Daytona, enjoys another victory at Avondale Speedway. It was the second in as many weeks.

Lightning Main Win
31 July 2005.
In a dominating performance, Orbison Lambert lays claim to the Lightning Main. The BBLS Garage, Embroidered Apparel Mazda Protege ran up front with ease in taking the first 2005 win for the #3 car in the third outing of the year.

A ride down the back stretch wall to celebrate the second win of the year. August 14,05

Got the flag again for the third time. That's 3 for 3. August 21,05