 |
Author |
TOPIC: clarification please |
| Matches
April 3, 2014 10:48:10 PM
Entry #: 4119033
| Here's a few I could use clarification on, mostly due to calls other people have made:
When should "time" be called? I have seen umps call it when the play slows down and an infielder touches the dirt after running in a cutoff. I have also heard that time can only be called when the pitcher stands on the mound with the ball.
Also, if you are playing on a field where there is no fence extending from the backstop into the field, meaning there is out of play territory that you can run into, if you catch a fly ball there, does the out count?
When a runner runs through first base, they are still in play if they turn to the left correct? They are only safe if they turn to the right?
The Interference call: I was rounding first in a two-pitch tournament this year and the first baseman moved into my line and we collided, I stumbled pretty bad and ran through it to second, but was called out by a very close tag at second. Should interference not have been called by the ump and a base awarded or at least let me keep first? We had two umps and it happened right in front of one of them. (It didn't help when the ump apologized after wards...)
|
| Jim_the_Ump
April 4, 2014 9:54:30 AM
Entry #: 4119061
| Let me get to each of these questions over the next day or so, but here's the answer for the first part of your post.
Time: The scenarios you mention for calling Time are both myths. “Time” is called by the umpire when the play has stopped, or is relaxed and near an end. Yes, that might be when an infielder comes in on the dirt, but that is not the trigger. If there is no more action, that is that defensive players are not making plays and offensive players have stopped running, then an umpire calls Time. And just to point out, once Time is called by the umpire, all subsequent play is dead.
Sure, as umpires we have called Time early sometimes in error, and players want to argue that they should be allowed to get that extra base, but 99.9% of the time the Time call is made correctly.
|
| Jim_the_Ump
April 4, 2014 11:23:06 AM
Entry #: 4119078
| Out of Play: Even though there is no fence extending into out of play, umpires use an imaginary line that is the extension of the backstop fence as the guideline for out of play. That’s why you’ll see many umpires line up with the fence on plays that are made close to that imaginary line. If, in the umpire’s judgment, a catch is made on the wrong side of that line, he would deem No Catch because the defensive player was out of play. If a player catches a ball before the imaginary line and THEN goes out of play, the batter would be out and all base runners would move up one base.
|
| Jim_the_Ump
April 4, 2014 2:36:31 PM
Entry #: 4119115
| Overrunning First Base: Which way you turn when overrunning first base does not matter. It also doesn’t matter if the turn is in fair territory or foul territory. The key is whether you make an attempt to go to second base or not. Once this happens (and it can be as subtle as a half-step movement, or a head fake), you are at risk to be put out. Runners are typically encouraged to turn right and return immediately to first base, as that usually is a pretty good indication that he done running. But a runner isn’t at risk to be put out just because he happens to turn left.
|
| Jim_the_Ump
April 5, 2014 7:16:49 AM
Entry #: 4119189
| and finally....
Fielder & Runner Collide: Actually what you are calling Interference is really called Obstruction. Interference is usually a call made on the offensive team, for example a runner contacting a fielder when he is making a play on a batted ball. Obstruction on the other hand is made by the defensive team, and involves hindering the runner’s ability to run the bases. Obstruction is a tough judgment call, one that requires an umpire to take lots of factors into consideration. I won’t bore you with the lengthy details, but runners do not automatically get the next base just because they have been obstructed. With that being said, I would say that in your situation, you should have been awarded second base. You were clearly obstructed, and the play was close at second. The thing is... Obstruction is a judgment call by the umpire, so while you can calmly argue with him, there is no grounds to protest the call to a higher authority.
Anyway, hope all this helps. See you guys in a few weeks.
Jim_the_Ump
|
| Birkey
April 6, 2014 7:39:48 AM
Entry #: 4119252
| Wow, amazing responses. The educational information from this site is outstanding. I tip my hat to you Jim.
|
| Anchor
April 7, 2014 11:27:17 AM
Entry #: 4119392
| Thanks Jim.
|
| Cashman
April 7, 2014 12:18:13 PM
Entry #: 4119398
| Time is called at the umpire's discretion as the play comes to it's conclusion and the ball is now dead. Typically this happens when the runner's have stopped, the ball is held by an infielder or no one is in jeopardy of being put out. (It's often called to prevent anyone from doing anything stupid too ) No ball caught in out of play territory is an out. (Hence why it is called out of play) Out of play is determined by the field.
|
| Anchor
April 8, 2014 11:52:04 PM
Entry #: 4119694
| OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who is not in possession of the ball, or not in the act of fielding a batted ball, or not taking a proper position to receive a thrown ball (thrown ball must already be in flight) which impedes the progress of a baserunner who is legally running the bases. The obstruction does not have to be intentional. In the scenario you described the umpire should have signaled the delayed obstruction call and you should have been safe at 2nd.
|
| Knight
April 10, 2014 6:51:26 AM
Entry #: 4119975
| Another question
Runner is on third headed home and steps one foot over the commitment line(other foot still not over), and heads back towards third but does not touch third and heads home.
Is he out for stepping over the commitment line? Does he have to have both feet over or is 1 enough to be called out?
|
| Jim_the_Ump
April 10, 2014 8:50:57 AM
Entry #: 4119988
| I think we’ve covered this before on another thread, but if a runner crosses the commit line, he must continue towards home. If he returns to third base after crossing the line, he is out immediately.
And just to be clear on the commit line. It only takes one foot touching even just the slightest amount of chalk on the commit line, and then the runner must continue towards home.
Hope this helps, Jim_the_Ump
|
| Hard Express
April 11, 2014 7:21:44 AM
Entry #: 4120172
| Ball is hit right back up the middle, Runner leaves on contact but the pitcher catches it. Pitcher tries to throw the ball to first but overthrows it and the ball goes out of play.
Where does the runner on 1st end up? 2nd or 3rd?
|
| Jim_the_Ump
April 11, 2014 8:37:42 AM
Entry #: 4120187
| Forget about what your T-ball coach told you about “You get 1+1” or “If you’re running back towards a base, you can only move up 1 more base”. Those are both myths.
The award is *ALWAYS* two bases. If it’s a normal play by an infielder, it’s two bases from the when the ball was pitched. If it’s a throw from an outfielder, it’s two bases from the time the OF’er threw the ball. So in your example, because the pitcher is an infielder, the runner would get two bases from the time of pitch which means he would end up on 3B.
Remember, the moment when the ball actually goes out of play has *NO* impact on the decision. It is solely based on placing runners from the Time of Pitch/Time of Throw.
Hope this helps. I know it’s a little complicated, but if you have any questions, feel free to ask me, Dave, Tim, Dana or Dean when you see us on the diamond in a few weeks.
Have a fun season guys! Jim
|
| Packerwacker
April 12, 2014 7:46:46 PM
Entry #: 4120394
| Sorry but again will have to disagree. They actually changed the wording of the rule last year to make it more clear. Any blocked ball which is a ball that amoung other things goes out of play will result in the runner receiving 2 bases from the last base occupied at the time of the throw.
Because he already had 1st at the time of the throw he would be awarded 3rd base.
|
| Faux
April 13, 2014 8:53:47 AM
Entry #: 4120422
| For the most part when a throw is made and the ball goes out of play the player is gettign the base he was running to and then he also gets an extra base as an award for the overthrow. If you just give him the base he was going to then there is no penalty for an overthrow. The only time it seems unfair is when for example someone is throwing behind the runner to try to get them out as they are returning to a base or you are trying to catch them after rounding a base too far. These are dangerous plays as that is when people get hit with the ball and if you are going to insist on making those throws you should be penalized significantly if you can't control it. I like that they give 2 bases on these ones. It hopefully makes people think twice about throwing behind a runner.
|
| Jim_the_Ump
April 14, 2014 2:10:49 PM
Entry #: 4120617
| Mr. Wacker, I’m not sure why you’re disagreeing... as I said, in the above scenario, the runner at 1B moves to 3B on the overthrow.
Also, I’m not sure why you’re referencing a “blocked ball”, which is a slightly different topic and not part of the above scenario. A blocked ball happens when a spectator, opposing player or equipment prevents a ball from going out of play when it normally would have.
As I mentioned, the whole awarding of bases thing is a little complicated. But if you have any questions, feel free to ask any of the umps at the diamonds and they will try to explain it better.
Jim_the_Ump
|
| Bud Wiser
April 15, 2014 3:50:59 PM
Entry #: 4120855
| Your awesomeness makes even snowy days in April like this one feel bright and warm.
|
| Anchor
April 16, 2014 6:54:10 PM
Entry #: 4121129
| Brown noser.
|
| Bud Wiser
April 22, 2014 12:25:05 AM
Entry #: 4121762
| Just buttering the bread my friend.
|
| Hard Express
April 27, 2014 7:27:44 PM
Entry #: 4122735
| When running home does your foot just have to be past the line or does your foot have to be down on the ground past the line ?
|
| Need a Runner
April 28, 2014 9:39:08 AM
Entry #: 4122806
| To be considered safe at home by the ump, foot has to make contact with the ground touching any part of the safe line or anywhere over the line.
If your foot is over the safe line but in the air when the ball is caught at the plate, you are out. Always aim for the line when lunging.
No sliding or diving or "yer out!"
|
| Bud Wiser
May 4, 2014 10:40:54 PM
Entry #: 4123919
| The ball is not dead unless it goes out of play after hitting the runner. However if you are running in fair territory inside of the foul line rather than in the three foot running lane (again rarely marked for a slo-pitch game)and have the ball hit you close to first base on a throw or you make contact completely with the white bag you will be called out. This would obviously be at the umpire's discretion.
SPN Rule 8 Sec 4 - G. When the batter/baserunner runs out of the three foot line and interferes with a fielder taking a throw, or making a play at first base.
|
| Empress Ruler
May 4, 2014 11:58:59 PM
Entry #: 4123928
| Dst did not dominate 2013. They only won 19 games the Duchess won 20 and only had four losses so look up the data again buddy. These two teams are clearly the best teams in the league, but that's last years news. This year a number of the pretenders will become serious contenders.
|