View Message Board Guidelines
Back to Message Board List   |  Go to Last Entry on Page Add New Topic  |  Reply  |  Login
Author TOPIC: question for the ump
Anchor

August 30, 2015
8:09:37 PM

Entry #: 4180264
Question

When an opposing team has two outs with a runner on third and the third out happens on first base and the runner on third didn’t pass the home base line before the third out, does that run count?


T Day

August 31, 2015
11:16:46 AM

Entry #: 4180311
I'm no ump but still know the right call...run doesn't count. Even if the runner from 3rd crossed home plate before the out is made at 1st, run still doesn't count.

DAVID M

August 31, 2015
12:09:42 PM

Entry #: 4180322
no runs can be counted if the 3rd out is a force out, whether he is forced at 1st base or 2nd base or 3rd base
does not matter if the runner crossed home plate before the force out


silverfox

August 31, 2015
1:15:21 PM

Entry #: 4180326
If a batter hits the ball and it flies off the bat and hits the ground just in front of the plate and rolls fair. Is it a dead ball or is all well. Thank You for your help……ohh and another…. the batter swings pops it up off the backstop and the catcher nabs it. Is he out or just a foul.

Jim_the_Ump

August 31, 2015
8:30:13 PM

Entry #: 4180372
For the first part of your follow up question, if the ball hits in front of the plate and stays fair, it is a live ball. (Just an FYI, if the ball remains on the plate itself, it is also a fair ball. Home plate is in fair territory.)

As for the other question, if a pop fly hits the fence or backstop, it is immediately a foul ball. No further play can be on it.

Have a safe and fun playoffs, guys.
Jim_the_Ump



Polybag

September 1, 2015
1:21:52 PM

Entry #: 4180435
Guys,
Can you clarify the “infield fly” rule for those of us who may be having trouble with it?
Much appreciated,
Dazed and Confused


T Day

September 2, 2015
11:19:42 AM

Entry #: 4180527
Infield Fly rule - Runners on 1st + 2nd OR bases loaded with less than 2 outs.

Rule is in place so that the infielder doesn't let the ball drop to turn a double or triple play. I've seen a SS for example drop a line drive on purpose, pick up the ball at his feet, step on 2B for the out and fire across to 1B for the double play. Since it's a line drive, it's not an infield fly so perfectly legal play. Cheap maybe but legal.


Paul Beeston

September 2, 2015
11:38:55 AM

Entry #: 4180530
not exactly correct Trevor, if the umpire determines an infielder can routinely make a catch than an infield fly is enforced, which doesn't exclude a line drive. Once the infield fly has been called the batter is out and the base runners are not forced to run but run at their own risk. The umpires should call "infield fly if fair" as this happens many times where an infield fly is called, intentionally left uncaught hits fair but bounces foul before the bases, in this case its just a foul ball.

Paul Beeston

September 2, 2015
11:58:56 AM

Entry #: 4180535
Just to clarify my last post, you are technically correct that a line drive cannot be called an infield fly, but if the infielder is deemed to drop a line drive on purpose it should be called an "intentionally dropped ball". In which case the batter is out. The difference is the ball is immediately dead whereas an infield fly the runners can still run at their own risk.

JAG28

September 2, 2015
12:10:38 PM

Entry #: 4180540
Obviously, Paul Beaston is leaving the Jays to become an umpire.

T Day

September 2, 2015
1:10:47 PM

Entry #: 4180545
Didn't know the ump could call that a dead ball so good to know, thanks for the heads up. Doesn't happen often but now that we're talking about it, guaranteed we see it this September!

Jim_the_Ump

September 2, 2015
1:50:35 PM

Entry #: 4180554
Sorry I couldn’t get to this earlier, guys. So busy.

So here’s what needs to happen for the infield fly rule to happen:
- There needs to be *less than* 2 outs (ie zero outs or one out)
- There needs to be runners on multiple successive bases (ie first & second, or first & second & third)
- The pop up must be able to be caught with “ordinary effort” by an infielder
- The ball must be a fair ball, or touched in fair territory by the defensive player

If all these 4 things happen, the umpire will call “Infield Fly, if the ball is fair, the batter is out.”

Lots of people get hung up on Point #3 above. “Ordinary effort” is very subjective, and can be influenced by lots of factors: caliber of play, wind and weather, positioning of the defense, how high the ball is hit, etc. “Ordinary effort” is totally a judgement call by the umpire.

To better explain “ordinary effort”, here’s a USPL example that I have used in the past. An Infield Fly Rule might be called if Jeff Gayman is the shortstop and he’s ranging out behind second base to make a catch, because that is pretty normal for Jeff to do that. But if I was playing shortstop (God forbid!!), the umpire would likely not choose to invoke the Infield Fly Rule because, for a ball hit like that, it would seriously be beyond any ordinary effort on my part to make a catch.

Anyway, hope this all helps. See you in the playoffs.
Jim_the_Ump


Knight

September 3, 2015
7:28:48 AM

Entry #: 4180628
Runners on second and third base with two outs. Ground ball hit to second base and batter beats the throw to first. Runner on third takes two steps towards home and stops. Runner on second runs to third and touches third base, then returns towards second. Question is can runner on third return to third or is it now occupied by trail runner?

CC & Coke

September 4, 2015
7:53:36 PM

Entry #: 4180770
I was wondering what the correct call would be for this scenario that happened. There where 2 outs and a runner on 1st and 2nd. the batter hit a really high fly ball to the second baseman. I was the runner on first and saw the ball was going to land in the base path but the second baseman was coming in slowly to get it. I jogged to about where the ball was going to land and walked in front of the fielder as he took his last steps to catch and he ran into me. (Idk if it's important to note but i never actually stopped moving as I stepped in front or leading up to stepping in front of him) I was still very much in the base path. I was no more then 2 feet off of a direct line from 1st to 2nd and if I was off it would have been on the pitcher side of the base path. Because the second baseman ran into me the ball dropped and everyone advanced. What is the correct call?

Jim_the_Ump

September 5, 2015
7:57:33 AM

Entry #: 4180797
For Knight: Everyone is safe. A runner can retreat to his prior base, unless there is a force play that requires the runner to advance. PS. Not sure what the runner from third was thinking though. Two outs, ground ball to second base?? RUN.

For CC&Coke: *YOU* are out. It doesn’t matter that he ran into you, it is *YOUR* responsibility to avoid the fielder in the act of fielding the ball, even if it means you have to run out of the basepath. PS. Again, like the previous situation, not sure what you’re thinking. Two outs, high pop fly in the infield, and you’re slowly jogging to second?? RUN, dude. Get to third, maybe even score.

Jim_the_Ump


Guy Smiley

September 6, 2015
4:55:35 PM

Entry #: 4180893
2 outs, runner on 3rd. batter hits a line drive just inside 3rd base, ball hits the runner on 3rd who is off the bag in fair territory before passing a fielder. ump calls dead ball, runner is out, inning over.

next inning the ump lets the batter who hit the ball up to bat again. correct or not?


Jim_the_Ump

September 8, 2015
8:24:52 AM

Entry #: 4180984
The umpire was incorrect. In the scenario you described, the runner on third was correctly called out. When that happens, the batter is credited with a base hit even though there are three outs. To start the next inning, the first batter up should be the player following that last batter.

Hope that helps.
Jim_the_Ump


Larry))

September 9, 2015
7:37:23 AM

Entry #: 4181111

During a game, nobody out and a runner on first, our 3rd baseman fielded a ball cleanly off the bat. He threw to middle IF who was waiting at second base. Clean, quick exchange there, and in turning to throw to first, the Midfielder hit the baserunner in the shoulder as he didn't get out of the base path (narrowly missing his face in fact). The baserunner was at best 2/3 of the way to second......just kept running straight down the base path. Umpires said he doesn't HAVE to slide....and consequently the batter ends up safe on first base. We get accused of "throwing at him" and end up in all of the escalation/arguing getting a warning from the umpire.

I understand he doesn't HAVE to slide...... But in taking one for the team like that isn't he interfering with the play at first?


Jim_the_Ump

September 9, 2015
8:33:42 AM

Entry #: 4181118
A runner does not HAVE to slide, and he has a right to the baseline. But I’d point out that absolutely no play in the world is so important that it’s worth someone getting hurt. The USPL is a fun, competitive league, with some really good ball players. But no one is getting paid to play, and it’s not for the Championship of the Universe.

Runners, getting hurt is not worth trying to break up a double play. Can you imagine breaking an arm, or getting a concussion from taking a throw in the head? You’d be out of action for months, and for what? To try and save one out in a regular season game?? Unless it’s a close play (where you should slide hard in to second base), my advice is to GET OUT OF THE WAY.

On the other hand, middle infielders, throwing at a runner coming from first base to send a message to “get out of the way” might be appropriate at some levels of ball, but I think you need to give some guys a break. It takes just a fraction of a moment to alter your positioning at second base so that you’re throwing around a runner (rather than through him), so why not do that instead? Do you really want to be part of the reason that a guy is out of action for a long time? Again, especially in a regular season game, is it *THAT* important to get one extra out??

Use some common sense out there, boys. As I mentioned, nothing is *SO* important that it's worth getting hurt or causing injury.

Jim_the_Ump


Paul Beeston

September 9, 2015
10:14:52 AM

Entry #: 4181136
If the base runner that has already been forced out "confuses, hinders or impedes" the fielders play on another base runner, the umpire can call interference and both runners can be called out. This is a judgement call by the umpire, and typically gets called when the umpire believes the base runner tried to break up the double play after being called out.

Larry))

September 9, 2015
6:54:05 PM

Entry #: 4181192
Thanks

Inn & Out

September 13, 2015
10:32:56 PM

Entry #: 4181591
Thanks to the organizers and the umps for a great season. First year in the league and hopefully the start of a longterm relationship.

Back to Top