Website Archives

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Update to League Membership on 2020 season

April 9, 2020

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to disrupt our normal way of life and as it remains in a very fluid state, the League is providing this update to our membership.

The schedule's circulated to our member clubs has a start date of May 2, 2020. It is highly unlikely the League will start play on May 2.

To be clear, League play will not proceed until the OBA reinstates insurance coverage and parks and facilities are open to the public for use by our clubs. We do not know when this will occur but are hopeful to have play underway by June.

The Executive remains in contact to monitor the situation and along with our Statistician will review modified options for both the junior and senior division schedule. Options will not be presented to our clubs until Public Health restrictions are lifted and it is clear the League will resume play.

We appreciate your patience and understanding and continue to wish all members good health.


Message to League Membership

March 24, 2020

Please be advised in accordance with Public Health orders and the closure of assembly halls, the League Executive has cancelled the league meeting on April 1, 2020 and all other events and meetings are postponed until further notice.

With the uncertainty of this pandemic, its length and the potential time to recover a sense of normalcy, the league may need to amend the schedules which could include less games and/or changes to timeframes.

We will endeavour to communicate with you in a timely fashion of any other updates or changes and we thank you for your cooperation and understanding.

We encourage you to maintain social distancing and wish all members good health in this trying time.


Awards doled out

The North Dufferin Baseball League presented 2019 season awards during a lunch and awards event on Mar. 8, 2020. Pictured, are from back left: Jesse McIntyre (service recognition plaque), Brandon Norrie (senior MVP), Peter Kinghan (coach of the year), Mike Wallace (coach of the year, senior best on base, senior most runs), Jeff Shilling (senior most home runs). Front, from left: Ron DiPalma (senior MSP), Zaccary Helmer (All-Star Game MVP), Brendan Lovell (junior best batter), Tristan Cabral (senior best batter), Ian Leggault (junior MVP and MSP).

(David Anderson photo)

March 9, 2020

Awards of recognition were handed out to players in the North Dufferin Baseball League on Mar. 8.

The annual awards event and lunch was held at the Lisle Legion with the presentation of individual and team awards from the 2019 season.

Team awards went to the Bolton Brewers for first place in the east division while the Ivy Leafs finished first in the west division. Both teams ended the regular season with a 20-5 win-loss record for 40 points.

The Ivy Blues finished first with 27 points with a 13-2-1 record in the junior division.

Tristan Cabral of the Clearview Orioles took home his first best batter title with a .484 average during the year.

Bolton Brewers' Mike Wallace won the best on base percentage with a .659 average and also took home the most runs award with 38. Teammate Carter Burnside was named the league's best catcher.

Midland Mariners' Jeff Shilling hit eight home runs for the season taking top spot.

The Tom Anderson Memorial Award for the most sportsmanlike player was presented for the first time since the name of the award was changed to recognize Anderson who died in 2018. Ron DiPalma of the Bolton Dodgers won the title.

Brandon Norrie of the New Lowell Knights was named the most valuable player.

Peter Kinghan of New Lowell and Mike Wallace of the Bolton Brewers tied for coach of the year.

The top pitcher award went to Brad Grieveson of the Ivy Leafs. Grieveson has been named top pitcher 12 times, with his first in 2006.

In the junior division, Brendan Lovell of Ivy Blues won the best batter title with a .477 average, while teammate Charlie Jeans had the top on base percentage at .652. Another Ivy player, Domenico Morea had the most home runs at two and Mitch Tucker, also of Ivy, picked up his second straight win with the most runs scored at 19.

Matthew Haire of the Orangeville Rockies won his first top pitcher award.

The most sportsmanlike player award went to Ian Leggault of the Orillia Royals. Leggault and Ivy's Ryan Barr shared the most valuable player award.

The league also hosted the first meeting of the year after the awards presentation.

The senior division has dropped to 12 teams from 14 with the loss of Orangeville from a suspension last year and a leave of absence from the Alliston Athletics.

The junior division will feature five teams, with a new addition from Creemore.

Teams will meet in April to finalize the schedule.

NDBL Awards and AGM March 8

February 17, 2020

With the baseball season just around the corner, the North Dufferin Baseball League will hold an annual general meeting on March 8 at the Lisle Legion.

Prior to the meeting, awards from the 2019 season will be presented during a ceremony and lunch at 12 Noon open to players and fans.

Some of the awards to be presented include the best batter, best pitcher and most valuable players for both the senior and junior divisions.

At 1 p.m., the league membership will meet for the first meeting of the year.

The North Dufferin league offers a junior and senior division with teams from Dufferin and Simcoe Counties and York and Peel Regions. Senior or Junior teams wishing to participate in the upcoming season must be present for the meeting.

Further information is available at or by contacting secretary Scott Anderson at 705-424-5068 or