Founded in 1920, Firecrafter is a service organization that serves Scouting in the Crossroads of America Council. Designed to emphasize the ideals of friendship, leadership, and service, Firecrafter teaches youth how to become a better Scout. Firecrafter is completed through self-advancement during a long-term camping experience. Consisting of two Cub Scout ranks, three Boy Scout ranks, and one honor, the program encompasses all basic Scouting skills and some unique additions. Firecrafter ranks are aligned with Scouting ranks and help to re-enforce the Scout’s advancement trail.

Here at Ransburg Scout Reservation, Firecrafter lives as a tradition that challenges Scouts in outdoor skills, service to others, and building better leadership qualities.

Camp Ranks


Camper is the first year program. All first year Scouts and Scouts new to Ransburg are encouraged to become Campers. The requirements cover camp citizenship, the Scout Oath and Law, the origins of Scouting, map and compass, hiking and one hour of camp service.


Woodsman is the second year program. Campers should be encouraged to become a Woodsman. The Woodsman rank covers camp skills (fire building, knot tying, knife and ax), nature, first aid, leadership and two hours of service.


Firecrafter is the third year program for First Class Scouts and above. While some exceptional Firecrafters have attained it in their first or second year in camp, it is usually the Third Year before a Scout has the physical or emotional maturity to candidate for Firecrafter. The standards for the Firecrafter rank are high and include all areas of Scouting skills. The three most difficult requirements are planning and leading a campfire, building a fire by friction, and the “unknown test” of the Firecrafter Ritual, which takes place after camp is over.


Minisino is a Miami Indian word meaning “tried and proven”. A youth is eligible to be tapped out for Minisino the summer following his becoming a Firecrafter. After a Firecrafter is tapped, out he must successfully complete a two-week candidacy at one of the council camps. Only those who are tapped out know its requirements.

Purpose of FireCrafter

In direct pursuit of the principles and ideals of Scouting of boys, Firecrafter was created for and dedicated to service to all phases of that movement.

Firecrafter and each individual Firecrafter shall be directed toward the observance of the following creed:

  • We believe that leadership ought to be fostered and its high trusts and responsibilities cultivated.
  • We believe that a Scout becomes a better Scout when he exhibits unselfish friendship to others.
  • We believe that Firecrafter's service to Scouting aids both the Firecrafter and every scout in building better character and citizenship.
In the spirit of these beliefs, we make our pledge of faithful service.

Enthusiasm and the Scouting Spirit are contagious. Firecrafter’s goal is to instill this spirit through the candidacies and fellowship with other Firecrafters.

It is always easier to follow rather than lead. Often it is necessary to lead when one must defend one’s beliefs or takes one’s life in the right direction. Firecrafter forces candidates out of the “following” attitude and shows them that in some situations, one must lead the way to accomplish their goals. Leadership is a rare and valuable trait, which Firecrafter attempts to instill.

Firecrafter serves Scouting and Scouts. Firecrafters have lead countless service projects and participated in camporees in all districts of Crossroads of America Council.

Troop 318 - Camper's & Woodman's

FireCrafter - Camper


2007 - Paul Cwyl, Kevin Kenes Erik Kowalczyk
2008 - Dan Lysy, Patrick McMahon, Dan Magee,Tom Witte
2009 - Trent Holly
2010 - Matthew Hetzer, Joseph Norwell
2011 - Danny Feltman
2012 - Mitchell Cunningham, Mark Cygan,Eric Franklin,Ethan Hufnagl,Eric Kenes, 
          Noah Mitchel, Shaye Murray, Tyler Murray, Michael Perino,Andrew Peters,
          Kyle Radgowski, Josh Slee
2013 - Kyle Lisak, Joey Jenkot
2014 - Jimmy Rybarczyk
2018 - Peter Akai, Matthew Peterson, Jon Slack
FireCrafter - Woodmans


2008 - Paul Cwyl, Erik Kowalczyk, Dan Lysy, Dan Magee
2009 - Kevin Kenes
2010 - Matthew Hetzer, Joseph Norwell
2011 - Danny Feltman
2012 - Michael Kowalczyk, Andrew Peters
2013 - Eric Kenes, Kyle Lisak, Kyle Radgowski
2014 - Jimmy Rybarczyk
2018 - Peter Akai, Jon Slack

Troop 318 - FireCrafters


Erik Kowalczyk   August 2010

Dan Lysy           August 2010
Joe Norwell        August 2011
Dan Magee        August 2011
Daniel Feltman   August 2013
Matthew Hetzler  August 2013
Tyler Murray        August 2013

Joe Kowalczyk     August 2009
Dave Hetzler        August 2009
Jerry Stechmiller  August 2010
 Tim Murray           August 2013