World Series Info

Subscribe to our Newsletter

World Series Information -

National Baseball Congress NBC World Series usually start the 4th week of july with final championship game 2nd week in August.
For 15 straight days 32 teams will participate in 80 plus games.

NBC World Series is held in Wichita, Kansas.


1. Win your division
2. Win one of the qualifying tournaments
3. Place second in a qualifying tournament, if the winning team
has already qualified.

See the website at:
History of the NBC

Our Founder, Raymond "Hap" Dumont
The National Baseball Congress and its now well-established World Series were the brainchild of Wichita sporting goods salesman Hap Dumont in the midst of the Depression.

Dumont hatched the idea after watching a Sunday baseball game between circus clowns in Wichita for the week and local firemen. While the circus wasn't allowed to perform on Sunday due to the blue laws of the day, the clowns in the baseball game drew a large crowd. Dumont figured he had stumbled onto something.

That's when he created the National Semi-Pro Baseball Congress Kansas State Tournament, played for the first time in 1931 on Island Park in the middle of the Arkansas River just north of Second Street. He made a few bucks on the event and made it bigger the next several years, until a cigarette was left burning in the wooden bleachers of the old park, burning it to the ground.

Never one to be defeated, Dumont hatched an even bigger idea. If the city of Wichita would build him a new stadium, he would put on a national semi-pro tournament, drawing teams from coast to coast.

The city built the stadium on the west bank just south of the old park and named it after Wichita pioneer Robert Lawrence, who once owned a mansion where the Masonic Home now sits at Seneca and Maple.

Even though semi-pro national tournaments had failed on both the east and west coasts, Dumont figured a central location might be the key to success in an age of teams that barnstormed by train or bus. But he figured he needed a hook.

So he offered Satchel Paige, considered the greatest pitcher of the day and perhaps the best in baseball history, an impressive sum of $1,000 to bring his touring team from Bismarck, N.D., to compete in the first NBC tournament, in 1935. In that day, a lawyer made $4,000 a year and a doctor about $3,500, so $1,000 was a huge amount for two weeks of play. In fact, Dumont didn't have the $1,000 when he made the offer. He figured he would make it at the gate.

The tournament was a huge success from the start. Paige struck out 60 batters and won four games, which both still stand as tournament records. His Corwin-Churchill team beat Duncan, Okla., 5-2 in the finals. Dumont made enough money to pay Paige as well as all the bills, and he even had money left over. The Sporting News, baseball's bible of the day, gave the event significant coverage. Thus, the national tournament was born.

Thousands of young prospects and ex-major leaguers have since played in the tournament, which has continued to be played at the stadium Hap built. In the first few decades, most of the teams were either barnstorming semi-pro clubs or town teams sponsored by local factories. The typical star was an ex-professional, and quite a few of the players had played major league ball.

In the mid-70s, the typical team makeup shifted significantly. Young college players for teams in Alaska and Boulder, Colo., started dominating the scene. With the resurgence of minor league baseball, semi-pro leagues dried up. By the mid-80s very few factories sponsored teams anymore. Now the tournament is comprised of amateur athletes.

NBC Premier Leagues
Alaska Baseball League
Jon Dyson, President
207 Northern Lights Blvd. #125
Anchorage, AK 99503
(907) 274-3627

California Collegiate League
Pat Burns, Commissioner
806 W. Pedregosa St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
(805) 680-1047

CenTex Collegiate League
West Warren, Commissioner
202 Tophill
San Antonio, TX 78209
(210) 249-2305

Coastal Collegiate League
Andrew Dunn
13400 FM 2354
Beach City, TX 77523
(713) 898-1874

Colorado Collegiate Baseball League
Doc Ritterbusch, President
3950 N. Bayou Hills Lane
Parker, CO 80134
(303) 522-0888

Jayhawk Collegiate League
J. D. Schneider, President
865 Fabrique
Wichita, KS 67218
(316) 942-6333

Long Island Baseball League
Mike Leiderman, President
1973 Lake End Road
Merrick, NY 11566
(516) 379-5453\LISM11

Mid West Wood Bat League
Jess Bolen, President
2001 Perryville Road
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701
(573) 979-1089

M.I.N.K League
Liz Fechtig, President
P.O. Box 1155
Chillicothe, MO 64601
(660) 646-2165

Northern Illinois Baseball League
Bill Storrs, President
6559 Fox Lane
Palos Heights, IL 60463
(708) 489-0756

Pacific International League
Steve Konek, President
4400 26th Avenue West
Seattle, WA 98199
(206) 623-8844

Rocky Mountain Baseball League
Dick Orcutt, President
1003 W. 30th Ave.
Lakewood, CO 80215
(303) 233-6588

Southern California Collegiate Baseball League

1901 E. Baristo Rd.

Palm Springs, CA 92262

Sooner Collegiate League
Jonny Henderson, President
4204 South Elm Avenue
Broken Arrow, OK 74011
(918) 768-6908

Walter Johnson League
Barry Newell, President
2020 Trail End Drive
Goddard, KS 67052
(316) 259-4698

Western Baseball Association
John Marsh, President
2721 Greyling Drive
San Diego, CA 92123
(619) 274-2665

Our Sponsors